Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: New taper starter gear questions...now all geared up!  (Read 13131 times)

Offline nolamule

• Trade Count: (22)
  • Taperssection Member
  • where's my mule?
New taper starter gear questions...now all geared up!
« on: November 25, 2015, 12:00:47 PM »
Greeting’s y’all! I am new to the taper world but an old hat in the live music scene. Recently I have been toying with the idea of getting a taping rig for a different show experience. I have been doing some extensive research and here is what I have come up with for my first rig. I don’t have a ton of cash to spend (~$1,500) but also don’t want to waste my time with lousy recordings. Please provide any comments on any of the selections I have made, comparisons between products, or better options. I will be primarily taping local concerts in small venues, arena shows, and outdoor festivals.

Mics: AKG C460b CK61
Mic Preamp / A2D Conversion: Apogee Mini-Me
Recorder: Roland R-09HR
« Last Edit: February 13, 2016, 11:20:23 PM by nolamule »

Offline Brian Skalinder

• Complaint Dept.
  • Trade Count: (28)
  • Needs to get out more...
Re: New taper starter gear questions
« Reply #1 on: November 25, 2015, 01:26:37 PM »
Welcome to TS!

I'm sure others can chime in with specific recommendations, but I'd swap out the MiniMe > R-09HR with a standalone record that acts as preamp, ADC, and recorder all in one.  I, for example, use a (quite outdated at this time, but still very functional) Fostex FR-2LE.

You should be able to pick up an all-in-one recorder for under $500 used, for sure, and probably new...though I'm not up to speed on current recorders.  That should leave you a good balance of budget to dedicate to mics.  And don't forget you'll blow ~$100-200 of the budget on accessories like mic cables, mic mounts, mic stand, etc.
Milab VM-44 Links > Fostex FR-2LE or
Naiant IPA (tinybox format) >
Roland R-05

Offline Life In Rewind

• Trade Count: (0)