Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Downsampling from 1440 x 1080i 60i Questions  (Read 5492 times)

Offline baustin

• Trade Count: (4)
  • Needs to get out more...
Downsampling from 1440 x 1080i 60i Questions
« on: February 21, 2010, 02:18:13 PM »
Still very new to this video thing. I've really started to dabble over the last 2 weeks or so.

I'm using a Sony HDR-SR1 and editing in Sony Vegas 9. It would seem as if the camera shoots in AVCHD format at 1440 x 1080i 60i, 16:9, 29.970. Again, I'm very new to the game, so I don't actually know what info is pertinent here.

I can keep the video in full HD format (1440 x 1080i), or I can down sample. What "frame size" can I go to from here? 720 x 480i? Should I (can I) convert to, say for example, 1280 x 720p (I'll be watching on TV's with full 1080p)?

In all honesty, I don't full understand what 1440 x 1080i means... Is 1440 the width x 1080i the height? I've been reading what I can, but quickly find myself getting lost with technical that I'm very unfamiliar with.

Offline Gordon

• Trade Count: (22)
    • my list
Re: Downsampling from 1440 x 1080i 60i Questions
« Reply #1 on: February 21, 2010, 04:16:38 PM »
you know I know nothing about HD footage but unless you have a blueray burner the end result is gonna need to be 720 x 480 for sd dvd.
Microtech Gefell M20 or M21 > Nbob actives > Naiant PFA > Sound Devices MixPre-6 II @ 32/48

https://archive.org/details/fav-gordonlw

https://archive.org/details/teamdirtysouth

Offline jonicont

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
« Reply #2 on: February 22, 2010, 07:54:17 AM »
1440 x 1080 AVCHD can be burned to a regular dvd, but you still need a Blu-ray player to view it.
HLSC1 (3 wire mod)/CAFS omni--CA ST9100 (4.7k mod)--R09
Canon HV30, Sony HC9

Offline Visionair

• Taperssection Newbie
« Reply #3 on: February 23, 2010, 01:03:02 AM »
Just like the guys above said.