Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: 3D printing: Can it benefit the tapers?  (Read 4643 times)

Offline Popmarter

• Trade Count: (2)
  • Taperssection Member
    • Live Music Archive
3D printing: Can it benefit the tapers?
« on: November 28, 2012, 01:59:03 PM »
Hi all, not sure if this it the right place, but I have been fooling around with some 3D software (Sketchup) and got it printed in 3D. (at www.shapeways.com)

Remember, i am not a professional designer, and this was my very first attempt on creating something in 3D. A Taperssection key fob :)

It's certainly not perfect, but it did came out the way I designed it: very tiny! I got 2 prints, one in a material called "Alumide" and the other being "White Strong & Flexible Polished". The grey Alumide came out a bit better, but the design was a bit to small to have excellent results (the numbers are not readable). But still I am happy with the results. I am on my way to design other stuff, but first I wanted to share this with you.

3D printing is relative easy (I am sure there are some designers here) and maybe it can benefit in one way or the other as it comes to custom designs for a small group of customers.

I think about: custom designed mounts, custom designed cases/boxes. Any other idea's or needs?
« Last Edit: November 28, 2012, 02:14:40 PM by popmarter »
Recorders: Zoom F3; SD MixPre 3 II; Sony A10; Edirol R44; Sony M10; Sony WM-D6; iRiver IHP-120; Sharp MD-MT20; Sharp MD-MT190
Microphones: Schoeps MK41; Nevaton MC59/S (cards); Milab VM-44 Links (cards), AT853 7.4mod (cards); AT831 (cards); Nakamichi CM300 (all CP's); Soundman OKM II Rock Studios
Preamps: Beyerdynamic MV100; JK Laboratories DVC-X-17b; Naiant IPA; Nakamichi MX-100 modded for 9v battery use ; Baby Nbox

Offline Chuck

• Trade Count: (42)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • time between the notes...
    • My recordings on the LMA
Re: 3D printing: Can it benefit the tapers?