Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Marantz PMD661 with phantom power on  (Read 4116 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline bhoy

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • **
  • Posts: 120
Marantz PMD661 with phantom power on
« on: January 12, 2015, 12:01:23 PM »
Has anyone used the Naztech PB1500 with a Marantz PMD661 phantom power on?  Does this work ok? 

I've also been looking at the Tekkeon's, but there doesn't seem to a be a model that's readily available anymore. Is there any other brand I might look at?


Thanks,
Bill

Offline jbell

  • TDS
  • Trade Count: (133)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 3888
  • Gender: Male
  • Spreadicated
Re: Marantz PMD661 with phantom power on
« Reply #1 on: January 12, 2015, 12:25:00 PM »
This will work and he will do a best offer of $40

http://taperssection.com/index.php?topic=171053.0
Schoeps MK4's, MK41's> KCY 250/5 Ig> Naiant PFA(60V)> Sound Devices Mixpre-6

Offline bhoy

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • **
  • Posts: 120
Re: Marantz PMD661 with phantom power on
« Reply #2 on: January 12, 2015, 03:11:23 PM »
Just got it! Thanks!

Offline DiggerinVA

  • Trade Count: (10)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 287
  • Gender: Male
Re: Marantz PMD661 with phantom power on
« Reply #3 on: January 12, 2015, 04:42:28 PM »
I have used my clone of the Naztech with a PMD661 and phantom on once I will never do it again. It was a major fail, the USB port did not deliver the required current for the phantom power. It is fine without the phantom.  On the 3450 5 volt on the main port is fine, I would match the spec on the USB port before use. Enjoy.
Sony C38B's --> Lunatec V2-->PMD661
B-3's --> Tinybox 1.5 --> PCM-M10

Offline boltman

  • Site Supporter
  • Trade Count: (37)
  • Taperssection Member
  • *
  • Posts: 955
  • Gender: Male
  • Music est vita!
Re: Marantz PMD661 with phantom power on
« Reply #4 on: January 12, 2015, 07:12:54 PM »
I used a 661 with a phantom-powered VP-88 for field recording and it seemed to work OK with the Naztech 5V USB.   Anyone else have this problem?   ???


Offline DiggerinVA

  • Trade Count: (10)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 287
  • Gender: Male
Re: Marantz PMD661 with phantom power on
« Reply #5 on: January 12, 2015, 09:17:08 PM »
The Label on the Marantz PMD661 lists (by memory I am at GF's) 5 volt 1.5 Amperes. USB Spec for computers is 5 volt) and .5 Amperes. Which means the deck will run out of power for the MIC's if they are demanding. So it may work or may not or be some where in between. In my can the bass splatted all over the place.
Sony C38B's --> Lunatec V2-->PMD661
B-3's --> Tinybox 1.5 --> PCM-M10

Offline DigiGal

  • Trade Count: (29)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2542
  • Gender: Female
  • Boycott Photobucket, start moving photos now!
    • DigiGal Internet Archive Recordings
Re: Marantz PMD661 with phantom power on
« Reply #6 on: January 14, 2015, 12:38:40 AM »
I remember the PMD661 itself has a phantom current limitation that is lower than required by some mics.  If I recall correctly the PMD661 P48 current limit is 10mA max.

I used to regularly phantom power my VP88 with the PMD661 powered by Tekkeon MP3450 and never ran into power issues.  I used a heavy USB cable that I had connected a DC power plug sized to fit the PMD661.  The smaller gauge wire in basic USB cables could certainly cause a current limitation to the PMD661 DC power input. 

Yes, the USB spec is for reduced current but it seems that for power only applications from a battery like a Tekkeon that it could be capable of delivering more current.  Unless the Tekkeon's internal circuitry limits the current output to fit USB specification.  It was on an old to do list but I never got around to measure the PMD661's DC current draw while phantom powering different mics.

Alas I currently run the adjustable voltage output of the Tekkeon to a MixPre-D and the USB 5V output to the PMD661.  The MixPre-D is of course phantom powering the mics and it's digital output is feeding the PMD661's digital input so it is just acting as a digital bit bucket drawing minimal current.

« Last Edit: January 14, 2015, 12:40:19 AM by DigiGal »
Mics: AKG CK91/CK94/CK98/SE300 | Shure VP88 | Senn ME66/K6/K6RD Cables: Gotham GAC-4/1 "StarQuad" w/Neutrik EMC | Gotham GAC-2pair w/AKG MK90/3 connectors | DigiGal AES>S/PDIF cable Preamp: Sound Devices MixPre-D Recorder: Marantz PMD 661 Edit: 27"3.4GHz QuadCore i7 iMac | OS X Yosemite 10.10.5 | Wave Editor | xACT  | Transmission | Final Cut Pro X                                                            

Offline DiggerinVA

  • Trade Count: (10)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 287
  • Gender: Male
Re: Marantz PMD661 with phantom power on
« Reply #7 on: January 17, 2015, 11:05:29 AM »
I remember the PMD661 itself has a phantom current limitation that is lower than required by some mics.  If I recall correctly the PMD661 P48 current limit is 10mA max.

I used to regularly phantom power my VP88 with the PMD661 powered by Tekkeon MP3450 and never ran into power issues.  I used a heavy USB cable that I had connected a DC power plug sized to fit the PMD661.  The smaller gauge wire in basic USB cables could certainly cause a current limitation to the PMD661 DC power input. 

Yes, the USB spec is for reduced current but it seems that for power only applications from a battery like a Tekkeon that it could be capable of delivering more current.  Unless the Tekkeon's internal circuitry limits the current output to fit USB specification.  It was on an old to do list but I never got around to measure the PMD661's DC current draw while phantom powering different mics.

Alas I currently run the adjustable voltage output of the Tekkeon to a MixPre-D and the USB 5V output to the PMD661.  The MixPre-D is of course phantom powering the mics and it's digital output is feeding the PMD661's digital input so it is just acting as a digital bit bucket drawing minimal current.

Thank You Digigal, Good info as always. I can narrow my issue down to the battery, as I have run phantom with the PMD661 and my Sony Mic's (hogs I am Sure) with the 5 volt on a MP3300 battery and internal AA's. There was one night I left a couple of cables at home and ran it anyway from my new battery. It sucked. hehe.
Sony C38B's --> Lunatec V2-->PMD661
B-3's --> Tinybox 1.5 --> PCM-M10

Offline bhoy

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • **
  • Posts: 120
Re: Marantz PMD661 with phantom power on
« Reply #8 on: January 17, 2015, 02:24:03 PM »
The Tekkeon MP3450 just arrived from the Ebay sale. All looks good, except there is something rattling around in the battery.  Is there some type of compartment in there with adapters?  A screw loose somewhere?  Anyone know how to open this up to see what's wrong?

Offline DiggerinVA

  • Trade Count: (10)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 287
  • Gender: Male
Re: Marantz PMD661 with phantom power on
« Reply #9 on: January 17, 2015, 03:54:26 PM »
I would contact the seller about that. The tips came in a separate bag.
Sony C38B's --> Lunatec V2-->PMD661
B-3's --> Tinybox 1.5 --> PCM-M10

Offline splumer

  • Trade Count: (2)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 987
  • Gender: Male
  • Go ahead, try this at home
Re: Marantz PMD661 with phantom power on
« Reply #10 on: March 15, 2015, 03:47:09 PM »
This will work and he will do a best offer of $40

http://taperssection.com/index.php?topic=171053.0

Would this work for a PMD660?
"God love you, Dr. Dre, you’ve made some amazing music and some forward steps in the digital era, but that sound is fake. "
 - Dave Schools

Offline DSatz

  • Site Supporter
  • Trade Count: (22)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *
  • Posts: 2384
  • Gender: Male
Re: Marantz PMD661 with phantom power on
« Reply #11 on: March 23, 2015, 08:59:08 AM »
DigiGal, 10 mA would be great--that's the current that the DIN/IEC/ISO standard for phantom powering requires for a P48 input; in other words, if a microphone needs more current than that, it shouldn't call itself a 48-Volt phantom powered microphone, because inputs that are fully compliant with the standard won't necessarily power such a microphone.

But to have 10 mA per mike socket available is quite rare in portable equipment from the far East, because it's expensive to provide and normally, it isn't needed. Any mike that draws more than 7 mA (some Earthworks and CAD mikes) deserves side-eye in my opinion, because at that point more power is being dissipated in heating up the 6.8 kOhm phantom resistors than is actually available to the microphone; there's just no benefit to the circuit designer. Some older AKG mikes draw ~6 mA at 48 Volts; some Shure KSM-series mikes draw 5.5 mA apiece; Schoeps tops out below 5 mA, and Neumann, Sennheiser and DPA mikes rarely need as much as 4 mA but that depends on the model.

--best regards
music > microphones > a recorder of some sort

Offline DigiGal

  • Trade Count: (29)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2542
  • Gender: Female
  • Boycott Photobucket, start moving photos now!
    • DigiGal Internet Archive Recordings
Re: Marantz PMD661 with phantom power on
« Reply #12 on: March 23, 2015, 12:04:19 PM »
Add Nevaton to the list above, their mics draw 10mA each, which wouldn't work with pmd 661. 

Mics: AKG CK91/CK94/CK98/SE300 | Shure VP88 | Senn ME66/K6/K6RD Cables: Gotham GAC-4/1 "StarQuad" w/Neutrik EMC | Gotham GAC-2pair w/AKG MK90/3 connectors | DigiGal AES>S/PDIF cable Preamp: Sound Devices MixPre-D Recorder: Marantz PMD 661 Edit: 27"3.4GHz QuadCore i7 iMac | OS X Yosemite 10.10.5 | Wave Editor | xACT  | Transmission | Final Cut Pro X                                                            

Offline jcb

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 37
Re: Marantz PMD661 with phantom power on
« Reply #13 on: March 23, 2015, 02:33:36 PM »
There are relatively cheap V+A USB meters that get between the USB battery port and the recorder power cable. These allow you to check the power used by the recorder in different configurations.
For instance : http://www.amazon.com/DROK-Multimeter-Dual-usb-Charging-Alignment/dp/B00J3JSEG6/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1427135508&sr=8-1&keywords=drok+usb

Offline jcb

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 37
Re: Marantz PMD661 with phantom power on
« Reply #14 on: March 23, 2015, 02:53:52 PM »
I just checked :
-- Marantz PMD661mkII, 2 AKG blue line CK93, phantom power on
-- 5.06V, 0.48A.

Offline DigiGal

  • Trade Count: (29)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2542
  • Gender: Female
  • Boycott Photobucket, start moving photos now!
    • DigiGal Internet Archive Recordings
Re: Marantz PMD661 with phantom power on
« Reply #15 on: March 23, 2015, 05:55:22 PM »
I just checked :
-- Marantz PMD661mkII, 2 AKG blue line CK93, phantom power on
-- 5.06V, 0.48A.

Nice, thanks for sharing the measurements.
Mics: AKG CK91/CK94/CK98/SE300 | Shure VP88 | Senn ME66/K6/K6RD Cables: Gotham GAC-4/1 "StarQuad" w/Neutrik EMC | Gotham GAC-2pair w/AKG MK90/3 connectors | DigiGal AES>S/PDIF cable Preamp: Sound Devices MixPre-D Recorder: Marantz PMD 661 Edit: 27"3.4GHz QuadCore i7 iMac | OS X Yosemite 10.10.5 | Wave Editor | xACT  | Transmission | Final Cut Pro X                                                            

Offline pdxdanmusic

  • Trade Count: (3)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 255
  • Gender: Male
  • pdxtaper
Re: Marantz PMD661 with phantom power on
« Reply #16 on: April 25, 2015, 05:07:13 PM »
Any idea of what it is with phantom off? I use digital in.

Offline pdxdanmusic

  • Trade Count: (3)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 255
  • Gender: Male
  • pdxtaper
Re: Marantz PMD661 with phantom power on
« Reply #17 on: April 29, 2015, 04:01:17 PM »
I just ran a couple of quick checks with the USB meter I got today using one of my no name (Super Power Bank model FY-01) 12000 mAh and it has 2 ports 2.1 A and 1 A (about $8.50 on ebay). It read 4.97 V with the PMD661 sitting idle it drew about .36 A (I even formatted a card). I hooked it up to my SD MixPre-D with the cable made by DigiGal and it drew about .36 A. I hooked it up with my Josephson C42mp mics it drew about .52 A.
The battery should provide about 6.7 hours with digital in and 4.6 hours using my mics.

 

RSS | Mobile
Page created in 0.226 seconds with 40 queries.
© 2002-2017 Taperssection.com
Powered by SMF
Website Design by Foxtrot Media, Inc., a Baltimore Website Company