Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Tascam DR-680 MKii  (Read 28364 times)

0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline yousef

  • Trade Count: (2)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1385
  • Gender: Male
Re: Tascam DR-680 MKii
« Reply #45 on: April 19, 2015, 02:37:10 PM »
The 60d is what you linked too

Sorry - wrong thread  :-[
music>other stuff>ears
my recordings: http://db.etree.org/yousef
http://www.manchestertaper.co.uk
twitter: @manchestertaper

Offline 2manyrocks

  • Trade Count: (11)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1617
Re: Tascam DR-680 MKii
« Reply #46 on: April 19, 2015, 09:58:32 PM »
Of course, you're going to have to do a head on preamp comparison with your 70d.

Here are 3 samples from last night. https://www.dropbox.com/sh/9oym08ytp67wf7v/AABn0JR0ZsjM7hUVLVn1V9SVa?dl=0

Mics were mounted on a railing/splash gaurd about 30" above the stage lip and split 7'-8' apart.

The only change I made is raise the levels a few dB in post.

I have a hard time differentiating between the 2 recorders, which speaks well for the 70D. Let me know what you think.

I prefer B.  Cymbals and other instruments seem more defined. 

Offline Rally_AK

  • Trade Count: (2)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • **
  • Posts: 96
  • Gender: Male
Re: Tascam DR-680 MKii
« Reply #47 on: April 20, 2015, 02:15:06 AM »
Of course, you're going to have to do a head on preamp comparison with your 70d.

Here are 3 samples from last night. https://www.dropbox.com/sh/9oym08ytp67wf7v/AABn0JR0ZsjM7hUVLVn1V9SVa?dl=0

Mics were mounted on a railing/splash gaurd about 30" above the stage lip and split 7'-8' apart.

The only change I made is raise the levels a few dB in post.

I have a hard time differentiating between the 2 recorders, which speaks well for the 70D. Let me know what you think.

I prefer B.  Cymbals and other instruments seem more defined.

Good ear, A was the 70D and B & C were the 680mkII. I prefer the 680 pre's as well but the 70D's aren't far behind, especially at half the cost.
Mics: MBHO 604 KA100LK/200/300 +PFA's | ADK-TL (GK-12d Caps)
Rec: HS-P82 | DR-680mkII | DR-70D | DR-100mkII
Pre: UA5 (w-mod)

Offline Rally_AK

  • Trade Count: (2)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • **
  • Posts: 96
  • Gender: Male
Re: Tascam DR-680 MKii
« Reply #48 on: April 20, 2015, 02:53:06 AM »
Here's a look under the hood of the mkII.
















Mics: MBHO 604 KA100LK/200/300 +PFA's | ADK-TL (GK-12d Caps)
Rec: HS-P82 | DR-680mkII | DR-70D | DR-100mkII
Pre: UA5 (w-mod)

Offline AB52

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • **
  • Posts: 136
Re: Tascam DR-680 MKii
« Reply #49 on: April 21, 2015, 11:49:07 PM »
Impressive.  It is amazing what can be done for the price now.  I would sure love to know how it sounds.

Offline Rally_AK

  • Trade Count: (2)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • **
  • Posts: 96
  • Gender: Male
Re: Tascam DR-680 MKii
« Reply #50 on: April 22, 2015, 12:57:53 AM »
Impressive.  It is amazing what can be done for the price now.  I would sure love to know how it sounds.

You can listen to a couple samples here.

https://www.dropbox.com/sh/9oym08ytp67wf7v/AABn0JR0ZsjM7hUVLVn1V9SVa?dl=0

B and C were recorded with the 680, A was recorded with the 70D. Mics were on stage so vocals aren't that great.
Mics: MBHO 604 KA100LK/200/300 +PFA's | ADK-TL (GK-12d Caps)
Rec: HS-P82 | DR-680mkII | DR-70D | DR-100mkII
Pre: UA5 (w-mod)

Offline 2manyrocks

  • Trade Count: (11)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1617
Re: Tascam DR-680 MKii
« Reply #51 on: April 22, 2015, 11:20:37 AM »
Of course, you're going to have to do a head on preamp comparison with your 70d.

Here are 3 samples from last night. https://www.dropbox.com/sh/9oym08ytp67wf7v/AABn0JR0ZsjM7hUVLVn1V9SVa?dl=0

Mics were mounted on a railing/splash gaurd about 30" above the stage lip and split 7'-8' apart.

The only change I made is raise the levels a few dB in post.

I have a hard time differentiating between the 2 recorders, which speaks well for the 70D. Let me know what you think.

Whoever it was that was screaming that long scream like a girl comes through pretty well, too. 

Offline Rally_AK

  • Trade Count: (2)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • **
  • Posts: 96
  • Gender: Male
Re: Tascam DR-680 MKii
« Reply #52 on: April 22, 2015, 12:14:49 PM »
Sorry, I was pretty excited to run the new deck.  ;D ;D ;D
Mics: MBHO 604 KA100LK/200/300 +PFA's | ADK-TL (GK-12d Caps)
Rec: HS-P82 | DR-680mkII | DR-70D | DR-100mkII
Pre: UA5 (w-mod)

Offline 2manyrocks

  • Trade Count: (11)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1617
Re: Tascam DR-680 MKii
« Reply #53 on: April 22, 2015, 12:26:36 PM »
That's understandable and entirely appropriate, then.   

Offline bdasilva

  • Trade Count: (12)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1353
  • Gender: Male
  • Use to be a Fishhead
Re: Tascam DR-680 MKii
« Reply #54 on: April 22, 2015, 09:03:55 PM »
Got the 128gb card... 40.   works like a champ  ..  My decks have always lived in the CS-680 cases...  The new deck will live in one of those... one of the other will in a generic SKB case.. but having it out you see how small and cool this deck really is.
Cad E300S set.. AT822  AKG C 414 B-XLS/ST  
Dorsey-Mod MK-012 w/ O, C, H and RED L/D Caps
Superlux S502 ORTF   LSD2
Silverpath  Cables> 
Tascam DR-680MKii    DR- 680 (X2)   Tascam DR-40     Sound Devices USBPre    SONY  PMD-M10   Zoom F8

"Buy a Taper a Drink... Prime the Pumps of live Music"


               On the "music" side of the "Music Business"

Offline n3mmr

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 28
Re: Tascam DR-680 MKii
« Reply #55 on: May 19, 2015, 08:40:17 AM »
I'm a total newbie with Tascam digital gear, so sorry if my question is really stupid, but:

Can you cascade a 680mkII and a different tascam deck?

Like run a 680 mkII in control of a 70d?

Offline danny3

  • Trade Count: (9)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • **
  • Posts: 209
Re: Tascam DR-680 MKii
« Reply #56 on: May 19, 2015, 06:33:33 PM »

Can you cascade a 680mkII and a different tascam deck?

Like run a 680 mkII in control of a 70d?

The cascade function works through the digital out of the master deck into the digital in of the slave, so no go with a 70D.

Offline bdasilva

  • Trade Count: (12)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1353
  • Gender: Male
  • Use to be a Fishhead
Re: Tascam DR-680 MKii
« Reply #57 on: May 24, 2015, 09:46:35 AM »
The jog wheel.... on the mk 1 the longer/faster it you turned it the faster it went... Not so on my mkii.. kinda sucks going thru a show.. am i missing a menu?
Cad E300S set.. AT822  AKG C 414 B-XLS/ST  
Dorsey-Mod MK-012 w/ O, C, H and RED L/D Caps
Superlux S502 ORTF   LSD2
Silverpath  Cables> 
Tascam DR-680MKii    DR- 680 (X2)   Tascam DR-40     Sound Devices USBPre    SONY  PMD-M10   Zoom F8

"Buy a Taper a Drink... Prime the Pumps of live Music"


               On the "music" side of the "Music Business"

Offline Scooter123

  • "I am not an alcoholic. I am a drunk. Drunks don't go to meetings."
  • Trade Count: (9)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 903
Re: Tascam DR-680 MKii
« Reply #58 on: June 01, 2015, 02:14:27 AM »
Any report on battery life?  The old 680 had, at best about 2 1/2 hour battery life, although I once got 2 hours 50 minutes. 

What is the experience?   
Regards,

Scooter123

mk41 > N Box  > Sony M-10
mk4 > N Box > Sony M-10

Offline lukpac

  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • **
  • Posts: 172
Re: Tascam DR-680 MKii
« Reply #59 on: July 24, 2015, 04:26:01 PM »
I just picked up a DR-680 MKII to add to my existing DR-680. I'll use the MKII for most things, and use them both if I need more than 8 channels. A few notes/questions:

1) I got mine from Full Compass, and while the price on their site is $599, I asked if they could offer me a better deal, and they sold it to me for $535. I'm a semi-regular customer there, so I don't know if that comes into play at all (probably not), but definitely ask if you're thinking about getting one there (or anything else for that matter).

2) The menus seem much nicer and intuitive than the original 680. I finally upgraded to the 1.30 firmware because I knew there were some improvements, and I was a bit sad that despite a few new features, but basic layout didn't change (the original 680 still has an inferior menu layout even with the 1.30 firmware).

3) I'm planning on recording a show tomorrow with more than 8 tracks, so I wanted to see how the cascade function worked. I *thought* it has been mentioned that when using cascade, the master and slave units don't stay in perfect digital sync, but I recorded for close to 7 minutes, and there was no drift. A null test between the files recorded on the 2 recorders resulted in perfect silence. The only issue was that the slave unit (680) was 1,841 samples ahead of the master (680MKII), so I had to line them up in post. I haven't (yet) experimented to see if that offset varies, or exactly what happens when switching which unit is the master and which is the slave. I'd be interested in hearing what other peoples' experiences are, however.

4) On one hand it's nice that there's not a separate line cord that can become unplugged from the power brick, but I do wish the cord to the brick was longer.

 

RSS | Mobile
Page created in 0.245 seconds with 37 queries.
© 2002-2017 Taperssection.com
Powered by SMF
Website Design by Foxtrot Media, Inc., a Baltimore Website Company