Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Powering The AD1000! Which Batteries?  (Read 3362 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline gormenghast

  • Trade Count: (34)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 572
  • Gender: Male
Powering The AD1000! Which Batteries?
« on: May 15, 2015, 11:24:56 AM »
Fired up the AD1000 for the first time in a long time yesterday with an AC adapter.  Working perfectly.  I'm thinking of taking it out occasionally.   Which batteries should I be looking into?   I have one Tekkeon 3450 and two more on the way.  Will these do, or should I be looking for something more substantial.  Guide me please.  I have the old Eco-Charge that I could replace the battery.   

Next question for those who might know.  Which of the older 16/48 solid state decks can take a signal from the AD1000?   I don't want to put too much money into this if the AD1000 decides to die one day. 

Thanks!

Offline H₂O

  • Trade Count: (26)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 5266
  • Gender: Male
Re: Powering The AD1000! Which Batteries?
« Reply #1 on: May 15, 2015, 12:21:22 PM »
AD1000 pulls about 18W (w/ preamp on) or 12W (w/ preamp off).


3450 is a 60Wh battery so max time:
- 5 hours w/ preamp off
- 3 1/3 hours w/ preamp on

Note that the Tekkeon is sensitive to higher current pull and the casing can melt - as some users of the 788t have found
« Last Edit: May 15, 2015, 12:24:21 PM by H₂O »
Remember Creationists are primates too... just a little less evolved
LMA Recordings

List

Online MakersMarc

  • Trade Count: (6)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1546
  • Gender: Male
  • Dust of long dead stars is what we are.
Re: Powering The AD1000! Which Batteries?
« Reply #2 on: May 15, 2015, 01:05:18 PM »
A Sony m1 will take a spdif signal no problem. A d7/8 also should. And a tascam p1. An hhb allows you to run from the aes output of the 1000 into the aes in on the portadat with an aes xlr>xlr cable.

But keep in mind that the spdif input is the 15 pin output/12 volt. So if you want to run straight into anything but a portadat you will, I think, need a 15 pin>spdif cable. And might as well include the 12 volt connection.

Paul at pro digital.com might still build these. 610-353-2400. Paul@prodigital.com. About 40 bux.

You could also get an optical>7pin and run a consumer deck out of the optical output of the 1000 if it works. Again, potentially a Paul item.

The Tekkeon might work, not sure. But you will minimally need a 15 pin>Tekkeon cable. Paul might be able to do this.

Some of this might be wrong I haven't run one in 8 years.
Mk4v/41v>Nbob kcy x2>nbox platinum/Naiant PFA/Naiant IPA>Oade warm mod Marantz 661 x2/Sony pcm m10x3

Online MakersMarc

  • Trade Count: (6)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1546
  • Gender: Male
  • Dust of long dead stars is what we are.
Re: Powering The AD1000! Which Batteries?
« Reply #3 on: May 15, 2015, 01:07:31 PM »
Updated pro digital info:

http://www.prodigitalinc.com

Mk4v/41v>Nbob kcy x2>nbox platinum/Naiant PFA/Naiant IPA>Oade warm mod Marantz 661 x2/Sony pcm m10x3

Offline gormenghast

  • Trade Count: (34)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 572
  • Gender: Male
Re: Powering The AD1000! Which Batteries?
« Reply #4 on: May 15, 2015, 01:43:44 PM »
A Sony m1 will take a spdif signal no problem. A d7/8 also should. And a tascam p1. An hhb allows you to run from the aes output of the 1000 into the aes in on the portadat with an aes xlr>xlr cable.

But keep in mind that the spdif input is the 15 pin output/12 volt. So if you want to run straight into anything but a portadat you will, I think, need a 15 pin>spdif cable. And might as well include the 12 volt connection.

Paul at pro digital.com might still build these. 610-353-2400. Paul@prodigital.com. About 40 bux.

You could also get an optical>7pin and run a consumer deck out of the optical output of the 1000 if it works. Again, potentially a Paul item.

The Tekkeon might work, not sure. But you will minimally need a 15 pin>Tekkeon cable. Paul might be able to do this.

Some of this might be wrong I haven't run one in 8 years.

Natelsky?

I have the 15 pin--I have two.  Just did a quick test to my Sony D10 ProII ( AES ) and the signal passes just fine.  But the 15 pin power cable is broken.  It was hit and miss but did work.  I opened it up and the negative cable is disconnected.   

I don't want to run a DAT deck.  I also have a D8 but it's not working.  That was why I was wondering about decks like the PMD661 ( SPDIF ) or a Sony D50 ( optical ).

I have a Powersonic battery I could replace--I have the case with the power connector.  And charger too.  But if the Tekkeons wouldn't melt might go with them. 

Your FS add got me to thinking about the AD1000 I have.  tested and it works fine--so far.

Online MakersMarc

  • Trade Count: (6)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1546
  • Gender: Male
  • Dust of long dead stars is what we are.
Re: Powering The AD1000! Which Batteries?
« Reply #5 on: May 15, 2015, 02:05:25 PM »
Yep, who's this? Old fucks.  :-[

Oops, misread that, solid state. I have no power source for mine, but I'd guess it would pass signal to a 661 or D50 just fine via the 15 pin. I've hesitated but might spend a few bux on a 12 volt and see what 148>adk is like. It shouldn't sound any different than it did into a dat deck I guess....which is great. So heavy though, I'd have to get one of those Brothers wheeled setups.  ;)
Mk4v/41v>Nbob kcy x2>nbox platinum/Naiant PFA/Naiant IPA>Oade warm mod Marantz 661 x2/Sony pcm m10x3

Offline gormenghast

  • Trade Count: (34)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 572
  • Gender: Male
Re: Powering The AD1000! Which Batteries?
« Reply #6 on: May 15, 2015, 02:15:25 PM »
Yep, who's this? Old fucks.  :-[

Oops, misread that, solid state. I have no power source for mine, but I'd guess it would pass signal to a 661 or D50 just fine via the 15 pin. I've hesitated but might spend a few bux on a 12 volt and see what 148>adk is like. It shouldn't sound any different than it did into a dat deck I guess....which is great. So heavy though, I'd have to get one of those Brothers wheeled setups.  ;)

A few of us old coots still hanging around--reminiscing about the good ol' days running 12v rigs  :P

Offline tim in jersey

  • Site Supporter
  • Trade Count: (8)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *
  • Posts: 3240
  • Gender: Male
Re: Powering The AD1000! Which Batteries?
« Reply #7 on: May 17, 2015, 11:58:18 PM »
This thread reminds me I haven't had a grilled cheese sandwich in a while...  :laugh:

Online MakersMarc

  • Trade Count: (6)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1546
  • Gender: Male
  • Dust of long dead stars is what we are.
Re: Powering The AD1000! Which Batteries?
« Reply #8 on: May 18, 2015, 11:11:54 AM »
No doubt.  :D

Has anyone held a grilled cheese speed test between a 1000 and a 7xx?  :-[
Mk4v/41v>Nbob kcy x2>nbox platinum/Naiant PFA/Naiant IPA>Oade warm mod Marantz 661 x2/Sony pcm m10x3

Offline scb

  • Eli Manning should die of gonorrhea and rot in hell. Would you like a cookie, son?
  • Trade Count: (10)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 8518
  • Gender: Male
Re: Powering The AD1000! Which Batteries?
« Reply #9 on: May 18, 2015, 11:27:24 AM »
I haven't run one in 8 years.

crazy words coming from you

Online fobstl

  • Trade Count: (4)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1431
Re: Powering The AD1000! Which Batteries?
« Reply #10 on: May 18, 2015, 05:50:32 PM »
So heavy though, I'd have to get one of those Brothers wheeled setups.  ;)
Ha, I was considering getting that wheeled backpack setup out of the closet for the Chicago Dead shows. But no tapers tickets for me from the lottery, so I guess that isn't happening. Running 2 sets of mics, 2 pre-amps, batteries deck, etc., this shit is getting heavy again!

Online MakersMarc

  • Trade Count: (6)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1546
  • Gender: Male
  • Dust of long dead stars is what we are.
Re: Powering The AD1000! Which Batteries?
« Reply #11 on: May 18, 2015, 09:04:40 PM »
So heavy though, I'd have to get one of those Brothers wheeled setups.  ;)
Ha, I was considering getting that wheeled backpack setup out of the closet for the Chicago Dead shows. But no tapers tickets for me from the lottery, so I guess that isn't happening. Running 2 sets of mics, 2 pre-amps, batteries deck, etc., this shit is getting heavy again!

Wondering if you'd catch that.
Mk4v/41v>Nbob kcy x2>nbox platinum/Naiant PFA/Naiant IPA>Oade warm mod Marantz 661 x2/Sony pcm m10x3

Offline gormenghast

  • Trade Count: (34)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 572
  • Gender: Male
Re: Powering The AD1000! Which Batteries?
« Reply #12 on: May 19, 2015, 01:06:33 PM »
I'm gonna do it!  Just bought another SLA to replace the dead one.  Looking to get my power cable repaired.  16/48 like it's 1999  :yahoo: 

Now I gotta find time and a band to tape.  Softball tournaments the next two and a half months every weekend just about.

Online fobstl

  • Trade Count: (4)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1431
Re: Powering The AD1000! Which Batteries?
« Reply #13 on: May 19, 2015, 01:14:16 PM »
  16/48 like it's 1999  :yahoo: 
If you aren't running onto DAT you may as well do 20/48.

Offline gormenghast

  • Trade Count: (34)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 572
  • Gender: Male
Re: Powering The AD1000! Which Batteries?
« Reply #14 on: May 19, 2015, 01:21:05 PM »
  16/48 like it's 1999  :yahoo: 
If you aren't running onto DAT you may as well do 20/48.

I thought about it.  But then I'd be truncating 4 bits--right?  Might as well let the ad1000 do its thing with UV16?  It's been a while.

 

RSS | Mobile
Page created in 0.24 seconds with 37 queries.
© 2002-2017 Taperssection.com
Powered by SMF
Website Design by Foxtrot Media, Inc., a Baltimore Website Company