Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Laptop Power Help  (Read 6191 times)

Offline waltflanagansdog

• Trade Count: (2)
  • Taperssection Member
  • "All I can say is that my life is pretty plain."
    • Show List
Laptop Power Help
« on: May 20, 2003, 09:26:14 AM »
Hi!  I am VERY new to the laptop taping thing, and I was curious to know what the cheapest/easiest way to power the laptop during recording is?  I know the Li-Ion Battery won't hold a charge for very long.

Thanks in advance!!

Mike
www.phishhook.com/lists/gmichaelmorrison
C4's->WMod UA5->h120

Offline Craig T

• Trade Count: (10)
  • Needs to get out more...
    • LMA
Re:Laptop Power Help
« Reply #1 on: May 20, 2003, 10:33:46 AM »
Cheapest & easiest?  Has to be wiring up a 12v SLA with a cigarette lighter adaptor like you have in your car, then get a car adaptor for your laptop.  You can find female car lighter plugs at your local Rat Shak.  Look up "batteries" in your yellow pages to find a local retailer with 12v SLA's and charger.

12v SLA $20-25 (charger $30-60)
female cigarette lighter plug $5
car adaptor for laptop $70 (I'm just guessing)
total cost approx. $100 ($130 w/ charger)
Schoeps cmc6/4v / Beyer mc950 / Line Audio CM3, OM1 / ADK A51 / Church Audio CA-14
Naiant Tinybox v2.2 / NBox(P) / Church Audio ST9200 / CA-UGLY
Sony PCM-M10 / Zoom F3 / Zoom F6

DaryanLenz

• Trade Count: (0)
« Reply #2 on: May 20, 2003, 01:18:40 PM »
Craig,

Can you use any old cigarette adapter assuming you have/can get the correct plug end for it?  Then which end would you hack off of the adapter to attch to the 12svl?  I would think you would hack the cigareete adapter, attach the 12v or 4-pin xlr to that and wire it up, +4, -1.  Just checking!

Daryan

DaryanLenz

« Reply #3 on: May 20, 2003, 01:19:43 PM »
One more quickie...what size battery can this be pulled off with?  I would think a 12/12 would do the trick, but lighter would be nicer!

daryan

Offline Craig T

• Trade Count: (10)