Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Tascam DR100 MkII - SPDIF STEREO QUESTION  (Read 2119 times)

Offline mkho

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
Tascam DR100 MkII - SPDIF STEREO QUESTION
« on: March 30, 2014, 12:38:33 PM »
Hi,

I am new to field-recording (I'm a video editor) but have recently bought a setup which I'm using to record ambiences and sfx in the field.

It is comprised of a Sound Devices USB Pre 2 (which I'm also using as the audio interface for my home editing rig) used as a front-end to a Tascam DR100 MkII.

I am feeding a digital signal into the Tascam via SPDIF (mini-jack to RCA).

One thing is confusing me - I sometimes use a mono mic (Sennheiser 416) and in this configuration the setup is working great for me - but I also sometimes use a one-point stereo mic (AT 825) which connects via 2 x XLR.

When I monitor via the headphone jack on the USB Pre 2 I get the behaviour I expect from the AT 825 which is, when I speak into the left element of the mic I only hear it in the left earphone and vice-versa for the right element.

However when I monitor via the headphone jack on the Tascam (or listen back to a recording) this separation of discrete L & R tracks doesn't seem to be occurring. If I speak into the left element I get the same signal in both channels and vice-versa for the right hand element.

I'm assuming that this will negate any stereo-field that the mic is recording so I don't want this to happen.

Am I doing something wrong? My assumption was that I should be hearing the same thing when monitoring the headphone output of the Tascam as the headphone output of the USB Pre and I don't really understand why this is happening.

Any help much appreciated.

Offline willndmb

• Trade Count: (17)
  • Needs to get out more...
Re: Tascam DR100 MkII - SPDIF STEREO QUESTION
« Reply #1 on: March 30, 2014, 07:09:12 PM »
Can't really help you but I agree that you should hear the same l/r on the tascam as the usbpre