Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: XLR to miniplug cable connections (balanced to unbalanced) question  (Read 5244 times)

Offline Microbe

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Regular
Hi,

I've been searching through the forum trying to figure this one out. If I'm making a connection from a Soundboard (balanced XLRs) output to a 1/8" stereo mini-jack (Iriver) will noise be introduced because I'm going from balanced to unbalanced without a transformer?  I realize the soundboard sticky gives options for cabling (I have those).  But I can't find much reference to the amount of noise introduced.  Is there anyone who can explain this to me...and if a transformer is needed any advice?

Thanks!

stevetoney

Re: XLR to miniplug cable connections (balanced to unbalanced) question
« Reply #1 on: June 28, 2007, 09:39:29 AM »
I'm a mechanical engineer, which means I have NO clue what the function of a transformer is (isn't that one of those toys that changes from a man into a mega monster?), but I had a cable made up for me that I use on the output of a MP-2 (which means it has two female XLRs).  The cables from those two females connect into a 1/8 inch male mini connector.  I've plugged it into a JB3 and the line-in of a 660 and it worked just dandy.  Maybe I wasn't searching for it, I sure didn't hear any extra noise.
« Last Edit: June 28, 2007, 09:41:15 AM by tonedeaf »

Offline Microbe

• Taperssection Regular
« Reply #2 on: June 28, 2007, 11:17:38 AM »
Hey,

thanks for the reply. At least you're one step up on me... you've used an XLR connection.  In this case the transformer would  help reduce ground hum.  I'm guessing it would properly ground the balanced output.  Here's a link to a product that does that:

http://www.sweetwater.com/store/detail/DTI/

Because the topic on connecting to soundboards only discusses XLR, 1/4" adapters and rca to 1/8" cabling, I'm not sure a transformer is necessary.  Which is why I'm completely lost  :).