Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Tamron vs Nikon lens  (Read 2769 times)

Offline Tye

• Trade Count: (9)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • No news is good gnews without Gary Gnu
Tamron vs Nikon lens
« on: January 15, 2007, 09:58:24 PM »
I am going to pull the trigger on  a new Nikon D80 package and will be using it for mostly landscape /concerts.
  I am new to this level of a camera and have read alot on many models and this is what I want to go with but I am not sure on the lenses.

I am looking at 2 packages that are the same except for the glass.  Kit includes >(D80 Body ,2 tripods, 4gb card, card reader , 2 lenses , 3 filters , cleaning kit, hard case, bag, wide angle and flash )

I have these options

Tamron AF28-80mm F3.5-5.6

&
Tamron AF 70-300mm f/4-5.6 Di LD

or
Nikon 28-80 MM Nikkor Lens

&
Nikon 70-300mm Nikkor Lens

Would going with the Tamron be a good or bad choice, I was told the Tamron's have better resolution

I know I have seen some incredible photo's with Sigma's and I hear people say they are junk all the time.
are these particular Tamron's a step up or down in this case?    Thanks in advance
Peluso cemc6/ck-21/ck-4 > Karma K10mp > Hydra's > Sound Devices MP-2> Buman T mod R4 - R9HR

Offline dgodwin

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • AT4041->Tascam DR-100mkiii
Re: Tamron vs Nikon lens
« Reply #1 on: January 15, 2007, 10:16:25 PM »
for concerts neither are really good options.  You really want a faster lens, something with a larger aperature.  If you know for sure you're going to get into photography, I'd spend the extra cash now and get more useful glass, then getting the kit lenses, and realizing that they don't fit your needs.  Their resale value is not good.