Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: So an audio noob bought a mixpre-d and a mic...  (Read 4536 times)

Offline lewisfilms

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
    • Stephen Lewis
So an audio noob bought a mixpre-d and a mic...
« on: August 18, 2013, 01:51:41 AM »
Hi,
I am an audio noobie.  I'm also a documentary filmmaker who wants to capture outstanding sound for my short films.  I bought a sound devices mixpre-d and a Countryman B3 wired xlr lavalier microphone.  I also have Sennheiser HD280 headphones for monitoring.  When I connect the lav mic into the mixpre and listen to the sound, I seem get low levels with the pot at 12 O clock.  If i increase gain too much I hear noise.  What am I doing wrong?  I have phantom power on, gain at about 12 or 1 o clock, the lav mic is clipped to my shirt about 1 inch below my neck and the signal is low/a bit noisy.  help??

Thank you!

Offline lewisfilms

• Taperssection Newbie
    • Stephen Lewis
Re: So an audio noob bought a mixpre-d and a mic...
« Reply #1 on: August 19, 2013, 11:52:54 AM »
Can anyone help?

Offline JimmieC

• Trade Count: (7)
  • Taperssection Member
« Reply #2 on: August 19, 2013, 12:22:51 PM »
I never used a Sound Device or Countryman but curious and may be others would need to know more about the setup such as:  Which phantom power switched on the Mixpre, 12V or 48V?  Looks like the Countryman B3 specs say they 3 to 12V microphones (if looking at the right specs).  Does the Sound Device levels (LED lights) look good and peaking around -4 to 0 dB with source present?  May be not that much of a noobie.  May be trying to gain the mic too much and gaining the internal noise of the mic?
OH Grown