Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Suggestions for good audio producing cameras?  (Read 5245 times)

Offline 6079

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Member
Suggestions for good audio producing cameras?
« on: September 16, 2007, 11:41:04 PM »
I'm new to recording shows with a camera, so I'm not sure how the audio capturing quality of a video camera compares to other taping methods.

Any suggestions on good cameras that also produce great audio?  Or is it more common for video tapers to attach an external mic?
Also any major differences as far as setting levels, boost, cut, features, etc. would be nice to know.

Price isn't much concern for this.

Thanks.
Free Screenings of "Bill Hicks: Revelations" in Portland and Seattle
May 27th & 28th.
info: http://www.BillHicks.org  RSVP: http://Facebook.com/BillHicksNW

Online Fatah Ruark (aka MIKE B)

• Trade Count: (11)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • I dream in beige.
    • sloppy.art.ink
Re: Suggestions for good audio producing cameras?
« Reply #1 on: September 16, 2007, 11:45:49 PM »
If price isn't a concern, separate mics would be a much better option. Especially because you could run the mics from the sweet spot and run your camera somewhere else.

I would consider listening to some shows on archive.org and picking what you like the most.
||| MICS:  Beyer CK930 | DPA 4022 | DPA 4080 | Nevaton MCE400 | Sennheiser Ambeo Headset |||
||| PREAMPS: DPA d:vice | Naiant Tinybox | Naiant IPA |||
||| DECKS: Sound Devices MixPre6 | iPod Touch 32GB |||
|||Concert History || LMA Recordings || Live YouTube |||

Offline guysonic

• Taperssection All-Star
  • WISDOM FOR ALL TIMES
    • Sonic Studios DSM Stereo-Surround Microphone Systems
« Reply #2 on: September 17, 2007, 12:09:12 PM »
Panasonic has proven to me to have the best quality audio over similar feature Canon/Sony brands.