Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Question about Mic Stands  (Read 2671 times)

Offline AlphaDoug

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
Question about Mic Stands
« on: May 18, 2010, 12:56:53 PM »
I am very new to concert taping, and I am in the process of assembling a rig.  I will be doing some live events outdoors this summer such as Bluegrass and Folk festivals and I'm wondering what type of model of mic stands folks on here use.  In most cases I will have to schlep the stand from the entrance into the grounds and beyond the sound booth, so weight is an issue, but I understand that if the base is not solid and heavy enough, the stand could fall over in a whiff of wind.  Any thoughts about both stability and portability?  I do not need a boom, jsut a straight up stand.  Thanks.

Offline it-goes-to-eleven

• Trade Count: (58)
  • Needs to get out more...
Re: Question about Mic Stands
« Reply #1 on: May 18, 2010, 01:02:21 PM »
Believe it or not, you're not the first to ask about stands... fortunately, the tech doesn't really change and there is a search function...

Offline acidjack

• Site Supporter
  • Trade Count: (37)
« Reply #2 on: May 19, 2010, 09:06:20 AM »
I am very new to concert taping, and I am in the process of assembling a rig.  I will be doing some live events outdoors this summer such as Bluegrass and Folk festivals and I'm wondering what type of model of mic stands folks on here use.  In most cases I will have to schlep the stand from the entrance into the grounds and beyond the sound booth, so weight is an issue, but I understand that if the base is not solid and heavy enough, the stand could fall over in a whiff of wind.  Any thoughts about both stability and portability?  I do not need a boom, jsut a straight up stand.  Thanks.

I just bought a used impact light stand over at B&H Photo and Video for $20.  Build quality is pretty similar to the Bogen stands, as is size/weight, but a lot cheaper.