Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Usb guitar cable to record board feed?  (Read 2499 times)

Offline Insectwarfare

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
Usb guitar cable to record board feed?
« on: April 11, 2014, 10:27:48 PM »
I am a total noob at recording from the board, and at the moment this is my only option (the show is tomorrow night). The cable fits a standard instrument jack, and the sound guy said that they have an output for me. So I was going to run it from the output to a laptop, recording with audacity.

The cable itself is just one of the $40 numbers, nothing expensive, but it records perfectly from the line out of my guitar amplifier. I know the circumstances are not perfect, but will this work?

Offline Gutbucket

• record > listen > revise technique
  • Trade Count: (16)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • "Better to love music than respect it" ~Stravinsky
Re: Usb guitar cable to record board feed?
« Reply #1 on: April 11, 2014, 10:31:34 PM »
What is a USB guitar cable?

It's not a standard instrument cable with 1/4" plugs on each end but something different?
musical volition > vibrations > voltages > numeric values > voltages > vibrations> virtual teleportation time-machine experience
Better recording made easy - >>Improved PAS table<< | Made excellent- >>click here to download the Oddball Microphone Technique illustrated PDF booklet<< (note: This is a 1st draft, now several years old and in need of revision!  Stay tuned)

Offline Insectwarfare

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
« Reply #2 on: April 11, 2014, 10:34:07 PM »
One end is 1/4", the other connects to a usb port. It is powered via the usb.

Offline Gutbucket

« Reply #3 on: April 11, 2014, 11:22:00 PM »
Ah, so it is a complete computer recording interface packaged into the form of an instrument cable.

If it worked from the line-out of the guitar amp it'll work.