Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Double A batteries to power MT2496 (fun hack)  (Read 6695 times)

Offline KLowe

• Trade Count: (5)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • CrossFit....check you ego at the door
Double A batteries to power MT2496 (fun hack)
« on: July 04, 2006, 01:25:48 AM »
Thanks to this post...  http://taperssection.com/index.php?topic=65610.0.  I bought and put together the Minty Boost kit.  A fun hack that only took about 20 minutes and some soldering skills.  The cost of the kit was about 25 total.  No more lugging around a Walmart 9v battery w/ a juice box.  ;D

Buy it here.  http://www.adafruit.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&products_id=14&zenid=9632a6fa0b47e40a95bb1862ade4468d

Here are some pics.

also...someone wanted to see my dremel job on the MT so a SPDIF can fit.
« Last Edit: July 04, 2006, 01:28:24 AM by mofrogeek »
I actually work for a living with music, instead of you jerk offs who wish they did.

bwaaaahahahahahaha.... that is awesome!

Offline dmaster

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Member
  • dance spaceghost dance!
    • ToriTraders
Re: Double A batteries to power MT2496 (fun hack)
« Reply #1 on: July 05, 2006, 09:15:51 AM »
what sort of tools do you need to make that happen?

the only thing I don't like about that is the connector sticking out of the mint box, but it'll work in a pinch I guess. 

Offline KLowe

• Trade Count: (5)
  • CrossFit....check you ego at the door
« Reply #2 on: July 05, 2006, 12:06:26 PM »
alls you need is soldering iron and 06/40 solder...radioshack about 11 bucks total.

The usb port sticking out of the back is very sturdy and I like it b/c it fully breaks down.

I actually work for a living with music, instead of you jerk offs who wish they did.

bwaaaahahahahahaha.... that is awesome!

Offline willndmb

• Trade Count: (17)
« Reply #3 on: July 19, 2006, 10:01:52 AM »
how much to have one made for me :)

looks cool though, thanks for the heads up