Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Your ultimate fantasy stealth rig (ignore price). nBox Vs XLR  (Read 8533 times)

Offline EricM

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
Your ultimate fantasy stealth rig (ignore price). nBox Vs XLR
« on: February 24, 2016, 05:04:31 PM »
Hi Members,

I'm still a beginner with stealth taping and I intend to learn this artform as best as I can.

I wonder what are other members ultimate fantasy stealth rigs? Please ignore cost.

At the moment I have an M10, with AT943 stereo cardioid L and R mics with a 12volt battery box.

I'm very pleased with my results for my first 3 shows.

I'm interested in perhaps going the Roland r26 with L and R XLR mics. Cardioids. Probably Audio Technica U853's.

But my question is I don't understand the big advantages of these nBox's and Tiny Boxes I keep reading about. Why wouldn't a taper use an r26 with simple XLR mics? and forget about these boxes.

I would be grateful if members could please break this down for me at a beginner level.

In my opinion an R26 with XLR mics are easily stealthable.

I will be interested to read everyones comments.

Thank you.

Offline bombdiggity

• Trade Count: (11)
  • Needs to get out more...
Re: Your ultimate fantasy stealth rig (ignore price). nBox Vs XLR
« Reply #1 on: February 24, 2016, 07:38:44 PM »
You probably need to do more research. 

Breaking some things down:

The mic connection is somewhat irrelevant to the ultimate result but:

All mics need to be powered.  A few mostly real old school ones had batteries in them (Nakamichis for example).  Otherwise they need to be powered by an external source.