Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: ISO: 6-8 mic setup for field recording (in rooms AND outdoor)  (Read 6494 times)

Offline olli66

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
ISO: 6-8 mic setup for field recording (in rooms AND outdoor)
« on: November 16, 2014, 03:40:40 PM »
hi guys,
I hope someone can help me out.
I am a video professional but my knowledge about audio is very limited. Most bands I record are happy with a basic sound setup but I want to invest and improve on that field.
So far I am only plugging in my 2ch Tascam recorder when there's a soundboard and for field gigs or recording sessions I use my AKG CK61 - Nbob - Tinybox - Tascam DR-2d setup but I always end up with a distant sound.
Often I record outdoor, bands with 4-5 members so 4-5 instruments plus 4-5 voices.
I was thinking of the Tascam DR-680 recorder and as many microphones as this thing fits (should be 8 if I read the description correctly...).
So in addition to my Tascam-AKG recorder I might buy this one. Any thoughts on this?
What would a good mic setup be (they need to be windshielded, optional windshield is fine, too) to run with this DR-680? Also, what kind of cables or extensions do I need for wiring a group of 4-5 musicians that are standing not too far away from each other?
Besides postitioning the mics close to each instrument/mouth should I use my AKG mics for a "room" recording?
Yeah, I know...with this I would just somehow have the recording issue settled...then comes the mastering...but let's not talk about that (for now)...
thanks for any kind of help/advice

Offline hoserama

• Trade Count: (1)
  • Taperssection Member
Re: ISO: 6-8 mic setup for field recording (in rooms AND outdoor)
« Reply #1 on: November 16, 2014, 04:28:11 PM »
FYI you'll need some sort of external a/d for the 7/8th channel on the 680. It only actually has six analog inputs, and then can do another pair with an external a/d.