Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: P&S Camera reccomendations  (Read 10329 times)

Offline phanophish

• Trade Count: (2)
  • Needs to get out more...
    • ImageLume Photography
P&S Camera reccomendations
« on: May 12, 2010, 02:59:06 PM »
I'm looking for some P&S camera recommendations.

What I want is a Nikon D3s in a P&S.  Since that is not happening, I'm looking pretty hard at the Panasonic DMC-ZS7.  Seems to be a pretty solid point and shoot with great zoom range, good quality, fair low light, reasonable price.  So is there something else I should be looking at in the $350 range?  Video is not a prime consideration but would be nice.  For example The DMC-ZS5 is a very similar camera but you give up the GPS and AVCHD Lite video and for me the extra $50 is worth it for those features.  But I'd skip video if it meant better still performance, particularly low light.

I'm a pretty serious photographer (Nikon D300 and a stable of pro lenses) so know I'm making compromises, I want something that can be taken to all shows and still be a good travel camera without dragging my DSLR around.  I really don't keep my head in the P&S market so I'm looking for some help.
« Last Edit: May 12, 2010, 03:42:51 PM by phanophish »

Photo:  Nikon D300, D200, 35mm f/1.8,  50mm f/1.4, 85mm f/1.8, Nikon 17-55 f/2.8, Sigma 18-50/2.8 Macro, 18-70 f/4.5-5.6, 24-120 f/3.5-5.6 VR, Sigma 10-20 f4-5.6, Nikon 70-200 f/2.8VR, SB-800

Jake: What's this?
Elwood: What?
Jake: This car. This stupid car. Where's the Cadillac? The Caddy? Where's the Caddy?
Elwood: The what?
Jake: The Cadillac we used to have. The Blues Mobile!
Elwood: I traded it.
Jake: You traded the Blues Mobile for this?
Elwood: No. For a microphone.
Jake: A microphone? Okay I can see that.

Offline Brian Skalinder

• Complaint Dept.
  • Trade Count: (28)
Re: P&S Camera reccomendations
« Reply #1 on: May 12, 2010, 03:44:58 PM »