Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Yet another stealth help-me (BONUS: power preamps huh what?)  (Read 3317 times)

Offline Nugneant

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
Hi all.

I've been taping for several years now, but on-and-off, and for a good while I was plugging into my roommate's multi-thousand dollar deck - so when it comes to microphones, preamps, phantom power digital gain XLR I/O, I'm the epitome of  ???

Anyway. I guess this is a two part question, with one easy answer and one place for everyone to get all opinionated and whatnot.

The simple question: When I was first starting out, way back in high school, I was using a $10 microphone from Radio Shack. This worked surprisingly well, considering. Later on, I started looking for upgrades. One piece of equipment I ended up with (though don't ask me how) is a reasonably small, reasonably stealthy microphone from Sony. However, when I plug this into the optical in on a Sony MZ-R500 MD recorder, I get nothing. I can flick a switch and make static noises, so -something-'s going through to somewhere, but absolutely no sound at all - not even faint blips. This isn't the only microphone I have that does this - it seems the sleeker, sexier mics all need a little something special to get them to function, while the ugly Radio Shack microphones work fine. So:

Why would a microphone from Radio Shack work just fine, and this other microphone fail? Is it a lack of built in gain? (and, followup, what's the absolute dirt-wretched cheapest, itty-bitty smallest gain-solution possible?)