Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: DVD > AVI  (Read 2438 times)

Offline RJPass

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • I'm a llama!
DVD > AVI
« on: November 18, 2004, 08:26:40 PM »
I have a few master DVD's and i wanna grab the video and audio offa it and convert it to AVI so that i can add a different audio track to the one that's on there, make menu's for the DVD (The one i got doesnt have it) and re-burn the dvd.

How in the fuck can i do this, and how much space will it take to do this?

Any comments or lil ideas will be appreciated.  Thanx  =)

Offline firmdragon

• Taperssection All-Star
    • taping blog
Re: DVD > AVI
« Reply #1 on: November 19, 2004, 02:18:16 PM »
i haven't found a good way to go DVD->avi.  most of my problems stem from the fact that mpg2 is a compressed format.  i usually end up w/ out of sync audio.

for what you're trying to do.  id be easier to just extract the mpeg2 and .wav file from your dvd.  then replace the .wav w/ your alternate audio.  then find  an authoring program that uses seperate streams as inputs.

in a worst case scenario (where your dvd is a full ~4gigs) you would need probably 8 gigs?  (4 for extracting the original.  4 when you end up creating the new dvd.)

Offline dklein

• Taperssection All-Star
« Reply #2 on: November 19, 2004, 03:20:57 PM »
Maybe try...are you ready for it...DVD2AVI  ::)

http://arbor.ee.ntu.edu.tw/~jackei/dvd2avi/

If it doesn't work, just google dvd2avi and follow one of the tutorials - I don't remember if I installed the vfapi thing they talk about or not.
KM 184 > V2 > R4
older recording gear: UA-5  / emagic A62 / laptop / JB3 / CSB / AD20 / Sharp MT-90 / Sony MDS-JE510
Playback: Pioneer DV-578 > Lucid DA 9624 >many funny little british boxes > Linn Isobarik PMS

Offline sickrick43

• Taperssection All-Star
  • I'm NOT a fucking llama!
« Reply #3 on: December 05, 2004, 07:28:47 AM »

Go to the Doom Website...