Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: AT853 > Battery Box > AD20 > JB3?  (Read 4979 times)

Offline scoper

• Trade Count: (1)
  • Taperssection Regular
AT853 > Battery Box > AD20 > JB3?
« on: August 14, 2005, 08:28:39 PM »
Just picked up the AD-20 that willndmb was selling - now to make sure I'm looking at the right setup:

AT853 (cardioids from SoundPros) into SoundPro Battery Box (with level and bass rolloff)to provide power to the mics,  to mini>XLR converter cable, to AD-20, then TOSLINK out to optical mini into the JB3.

I'm new to the outboard A/D world, so some newbie questions:

I'm using this as a stealth rig exclusively - is there a way to cut down on the hardware? I had hoped for the AD20 with mini input but it's too far out of reach. That's a lot of different connectors to worry about.

Also, since the BB has level controls, how should I set the levels on the BB vs the AD-20. I've heard that the 853's are "hot", but don't know what that will mean in practical situations. I record both rock shows and acoustic stuff, and I've only used the jb3 for one show (Springsteen) so far - levels looked good on the jb3 meters but had to be boosted a lot in post production to get a decent sounding CD.

So I've gone from an experienced MiniDisc user to much better sounding equipment with which I have limited experience. This board has been a wealth of knowledge, so where better to ask?

All comments and suggestions welcome!!

Scott

AT853U cardioid (low sens mod)| Countryman B3 Omni (low sens mod) > CA-UGLY II > Sony PCM-M10

Former: Sony MiniDisc/JB3/MicroTrack/R-09HR

Offline willndmb

• Trade Count: (17)
  • Needs to get out more...
Re: AT853 > Battery Box > AD20 > JB3?
« Reply #1 on: August 14, 2005, 09:53:30 PM »
thank you for the purchase, shipping tomorrow
but here is what i have done when stealthing this rig

to get the gear in i wrap the mics around my waist under my belt