Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: field recording newbie: SD MixPre or not?  (Read 6577 times)

Offline soundgeezer

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
field recording newbie: SD MixPre or not?
« on: September 27, 2010, 05:12:22 AM »
Hi everyone!

Disclaimer: I'm a complete newbie when it comes to sound recording, so please be gentle if I happen to ask a somewhat ignorant question here. :)

In January, I'll be heading on an 11-day trip to India with Chris Watson to capture wildlife sounds. Ideally, I'd like to grab a good mix of both individual animals and overall environmental stuff. (I'm posting some mic questions elsewhere on this board.)

At the moment, I only own a Marantz PMD620 recorder, which has no phantom power, etc. I'm looking for an upgrade, since I also think the mics I'll end up investing in will need phantom power no matter what.

My question: Buy a Sound Devices MixPre to boost everything or go with something like a Fostex FR-2LE instead? My biggest issue is to have the least noise possible when recording, so good pre-amps are important to me. One day I'll invest in an SD 702 or similar, but for now - with a smaller budget?

Thanks for any help!

Offline fmaderjr

• Trade Count: (16)
  • Taperssection All-Star
Re: field recording newbie: SD MixPre or not?
« Reply #1 on: September 27, 2010, 10:49:10 AM »
My question: Buy a Sound Devices MixPre to boost everything or go with something like a Fostex FR-2LE instead? My biggest issue is to have the least noise possible when recording, so good pre-amps are important to me. One day I'll invest in an SD 702 or similar, but for now - with a smaller budget?

I've been criticized about my distaste for the FR2-LE, but though most seem to love it, I don't think many use it for environmental sounds. I was disappointment by the gain it provided when I was recording stuff that was not loud.