Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: replacing audio in an .avi file (Help)  (Read 3628 times)

Offline Corbin

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Member
replacing audio in an .avi file (Help)
« on: June 22, 2007, 09:57:22 AM »
Does anyone know how I would go about replacing the audio on an .avi file?  I have a clamp for my digital camera so I usually video-record one song each time I go out taping.  What I want to do is replace the audio from the camera's .avi file with the audio from my LSD2 microphone.

I'm a mac user with iMovie and I grabbed Final Cut Express HD 3.5.1 in case it would help me with this project.

PS..After I'm done, I would use Handbrake to get the movie to the correct size and format for youtube..Is this correct?

Many thanks,
Adam

Offline cleantone

• Trade Count: (2)
  • Taperssection All-Star
Re: replacing audio in an .avi file (Help)
« Reply #1 on: June 22, 2007, 10:31:13 AM »
I'm no expert but when I have done this I have used iMovie. You just import your new audio. Align as best as your able and make sure to uncheck the origional audio for it to go away. I will warn you that sometimes even with the old or second audio deselected when exporting it kept that audio. So just check the file after exporting it.
ISO: your recordings of The Slip, Surprise Me Mr. Davis and The Barr Brothers. pm me please.

Offline Corbin

• Taperssection Member
« Reply #2 on: June 22, 2007, 11:44:36 AM »
Thanks cleantone...I'll give it a try tonight and report back

Offline KurtMichaels

• Taperssection Newbie
« Reply #3 on: June 22, 2007, 12:03:05 PM »
the problem with iMovie is that it can only edit DV files, just like other free movie editing apps. FCE is more versatile, but does not open files from hard disc as far as I can recall.

maybe the demux/mux tools in FFMpegX can help you: http://www.ffmpegx.com/tools.html
FFMpegX is a little difficult to install and master, but it is a useful tool. hit the videohelp.com forums for help.