Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Attenuating talking with Audacity  (Read 2130 times)

Offline absnj

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Member
Attenuating talking with Audacity
« on: August 24, 2009, 10:27:07 AM »
I am a taping noob, and recorded a shed show with CA-14's on my hat, just to get some practice.  Since there were a few open rigs, I figured they would get better pulls, and I let my daughter chat (which she does prolificly) during the show. 

The recording came out better than expected, so now I want to attenuate her chatter.  In some cases I can do it by cutting and pasting from the left to right channels, since she was on my right.  In other spots I turned towards her and picked her up on both channels, so it's a bit tougher.

Can anyone give some some tips on using Audacity reduce the talk?

Thanks, Alan

easy jim

Re: Attenuating talking with Audacity
« Reply #1 on: August 24, 2009, 02:21:19 PM »
Aside from cutting and pasting the opposite channel, if it has less of the chatter, there's not much else you can do in Audacity.  If you try an EQ approach, the music will suffer too. 

The alternative is to spend $$ on some audio restoration software like iZotope RX or Bias SoundSoap, etc. (there are others), where you can isolate/interpolate/repair broadband noise.

Offline Brian Skalinder

• Complaint Dept.
  • Trade Count: (28)
  • Needs to get out more...
« Reply #2 on: August 24, 2009, 03:47:52 PM »
I'd just chalk it up to what it was, practice, and move on to the next recording.  Frankly, I'm not particularly fond of cutting/pasting channels, as I find the abrupt stereo (before the cut/paste) > mono (during the portion pasted) > stereo (after the paste) transition unpleasant.  But I know a lot of people do this, so if you're happy with it, stick with it.
Milab VM-44 Links > Fostex FR-2LE or
Naiant IPA (tinybox format) >
Roland R-05

easy jim

« Reply #3 on: August 24, 2009, 06:08:56 PM »