Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Rode NT4?  (Read 13438 times)

Offline carpa

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Regular
Re: Rode NT4?
« Reply #30 on: February 16, 2009, 05:07:38 AM »
Thank you digifish for the intormation, and thank Dsatz sor the explanation.

One question for Dsatz (or others, of course;only, as I read here, dsatz is very expert in classical recordings) just to help me in the choice I'll have to make in order to get better recordings out of my R09hr than the built in mics. I am a professional classical pianist, and I know that a very sophisticated gear -and a strong know-how-is requested to pull out great recordins; my aims are just to have a not-that-bad result from my own concerts for personal use (putting somethin on a website or just hear what I did in concert) without the concern of taking too much gear with me and spending extra time in positioning, listening and so on.
Most of my work is in being concentrated, "understand" the instrument I'm playing on, etc.; that's why I'm looking at the compromise brouht by stereo microphones, but I'm sure I don't have to explain it to you.

Talking about  stereo mics like Rode nt4, or the new AudioTechnica at8022, or Beyerdynamics (there are a couple of models), they have the possibility of being battery powered (and usually a 5pin to 1/8 minijack is used) or phantom powered (and xlr's are used).

One thing is powering a microphone, another is the balanced path, though most of the times throuh a balanced cable  phantom power is delivered.
I used to have a Sony ECM 979 microphone, designed for broadcast; it worked only with battery, but the supplied cable was 5pin to L and R xlrs.
I connected this mic to a sony dat 1/8 mic input using two line matching transformers (A95UF) from Shure, which -I was told- take the balanced signal and come out each with a mono 1/4 jack(male or female, there is the choice); then into the deck with a two mono-to stereo cable.