Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: A few questions from a total noob  (Read 2806 times)

Offline genos92

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
A few questions from a total noob
« on: October 13, 2011, 11:51:28 PM »
I am looking to get into taping because, as it happens, every show i go to never makes it on to archive.org! I have been considering this hobby and have decided to pursue it finally. My question is... if the following setup is complete or incomplete. Basically... will it work. I am not too concerned with quality at the moment because there is always the possibility of upward mobility in the equipment department!

This particular set of mics: http://www.fullcompass.com/product/340476.html?utm_source=googleps&utm_medium=shopping&utm_campaign=googleps

This device as a recorder: http://www.amazon.com/Zoom-H2-Portable-Stereo-Recorder/dp/B000VBH2IG/ref=sr_1_2?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1318558227&sr=1-2

And this as an energy source: http://www.amazon.com/ART-Phantom-Pro-Power-Supply/dp/B003S7LTI4

Also, is that phantom box the same as a battery box (or a substitute in my case), and does the output go from the box to the recorder?

And lastly, would anyone be able to tell me which set of matched mics to go with between the Fostex MC10 that I have listed above and the SP-CMC-2s (aka AT831)

The help would be greatly appreciated, I am real excited to get started if I can secure the correct equipment.

Offline Todd R

• Over/Under on next gear purchase: 2 months
  • Trade Count: (29)
  • Needs to get out more...
Re: A few questions from a total noob
« Reply #1 on: October 14, 2011, 01:26:53 PM »
That certainly seems like a pretty workable low-cost taping solution.