Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Static/Inteference in Recording, pls help me figure out what I did wrong  (Read 2273 times)

Offline Gorto45

• Trade Count: (3)
  • Taperssection Newbie
I'm very new to taping, so I was practicing at a bar with some live music last weekend. I did something wrong and I'm trying to confirm that it was just cell interference.  I tried to figure it out myself by listening to some examples of cell problems on these boards. I'm almost certain that's what this is, but I'm not 100% sure because it usually seems shorter than this.  So I figured it couldn't hurt to ask. There was a lot of this type of interference throughout my recording, usually once every three or four minutes, but this is one of the worse ones.  I just want to make sure that there isn't something else that I'm doing wrong.  The recording The equipment I was recording with was CA-14 cards>CA-9100>Sony PCM-M10.  And yes, I forgot to put my phone into airplane mode (lesson learned).

thanks everyone for the help!

https://soundcloud.com/user-176789325/sample-1

Offline strangerinusall

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
Indeed it sounds like a cell phone buzz. With a bit of patience you can reduce this annoying sound by using iZotope RX (probably there´s more audio software which does the trick).
Here´s my attempt: https://soundcloud.com/user-960607557/sample-1-by-gorto45-cell-off

Offline Bruce Watson

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Regular
I'm trying to confirm that it was just cell interference.

That's most likely. Could be a pager, could be a tablet, but it's definitely a digital transmission of some kind. Doesn't have to be your phone, or even a phone particularly close to you. Whatever it is, it's prodigiously leaking RFI.

I just want to make sure that there isn't something else that I'm doing wrong.