Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: First approach to recording: choosing a recorder  (Read 7247 times)

Offline Deathmental

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
First approach to recording: choosing a recorder
« on: August 26, 2016, 09:33:51 PM »
Hello everybody. New around here. New at everything. Like the David Bowie song, Absolute Beginner.

I've been reading through the topics a lot, but I haven't found the answer I was searching for. The doubts arise from the fact that I'll be focusing more on phonography, not on taping live music. I want to record nature sounds, people talking, machine sounds, and so on.

So, as much as I hate to bother you, here are my questions.

The starting point is obviously the recorder. Now, I really can't decide, even after all the reading and comparing. My budget is limited.

Since I already own a microphone (even if it's far from perfect, I will first experiment with what I have), I was thinking about a dedicated unit (i.e. not something with built-in mics).
Is it a good idea?

The Tascam DR-70d or the DR-60d seem pretty popular around here, and I would like to stay in that price range (around 300 $). There's also a used Roland r-26 on sale for that price.

Keep in mind that I'm just starting. Thanks for your help.

P.S. It's nice to be here. It looks like a really nice place.
« Last Edit: August 27, 2016, 12:53:35 AM by Deathmental »

Offline pdastoor

• Trade Count: (5)
  • Taperssection Regular
Re: First approach to recording: choosing a recorder
« Reply #1 on: August 27, 2016, 02:45:15 AM »