Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Modded PS-2 won't work with Oktava MK-012's. Grounding issue?  (Read 15130 times)

Offline (Evan)

• Trade Count: (1)
  • Taperssection Regular
Modded PS-2 won't work with Oktava MK-012's. Grounding issue?
« on: January 03, 2011, 03:52:35 PM »
Hey guys. So I just got a PS-2 with a 5-pin mini-XLR to 1/8" output mod, and it refuses to work with my Oktava MK-012's into my Sony PCM-D50. It just outputs static and a barely audible signal from the mics. I tried it with AKG C414 B-ULS mics and it works perfectly. What could be going wrong here? The Oktavas work perfectly when I use them with my Microtrack II's phantom power, so the mics aren't broken. Could it be a grounding/balancing issue? I'm no electrician so I'm not familiar with how that kind of stuff works. Would someone here be able to mod the unit for me or, if its not too difficult, tell me how to mod it myself?

Thanks.
« Last Edit: January 04, 2011, 12:12:51 AM by (Evan) »

Offline Chuck

• Trade Count: (42)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • time between the notes...
    • My recordings on the LMA
Re: Modded PS-2 won't work with Oktava MK-012's. Grounding issue?
« Reply #1 on: January 04, 2011, 10:53:04 AM »
What you describe is puzzling. ??? If what you describe is accurate it sounds like a bad cable to me. Maybe there is an intermittent problem with either the mic cables or the five pin breakout cable?

Do you have a multi-meter?

If so, check continuity on all of the cables you are using. I'd test the cables while jiggling them around, to make sure there isn't a short somewhere too.

If that's not the problem, then I'd check the voltage output of the PS-2 across Pins 1 and 2 and Pins 1 and 3. If the voltage is 48v +/- 4 volts then the phantom power is working. I've owned several PS-2's and I know they are built very well. I doubt it is the PS-2 itself, but I guess anything is possible.