Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: powering a mini-me  (Read 2116 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

DaryanLenz

  • Guest
  • Trade Count: (0)
powering a mini-me
« on: March 19, 2003, 02:11:02 PM »
Well, I got a brand spanking new mini-me in the mail today thanks to masterpiece.  What kind of power consum ption am I looking at here?  I have a 12v/5amh, and a 12v/12amh battery I could use tonight.  I will probably come up with something in between at some point but was wondering if I could get away with just running the 12/5 for a 3-4 hour show?  Any thoughts?  Also, I didn't get a dc cable, which is no bid deal,  because I had an extra that I had made for the sax which just happens to work perfectly...saved myself a lot of trouble too!  Anyway, all thoughts are appreciated.  Off to class :'(

D

Offline Brian Skalinder

  • Complaint Dept.
  • Trade Count: (27)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 18713
  • Gender: Male
Re:powering a mini-me
« Reply #1 on: March 19, 2003, 02:37:47 PM »
You should be fine for a 3-4 hour show, Daryan.

I believe Watts = Current * Voltage.  So Current =  Watts / Voltage.  We know from the specs the MMe is 5.5W.  And your SLA is 12v.  So...

5.5 / 12 = ~.46 (but lets round up to .50)

At .50 a/h, your 5 ah battery would theoretically last ~10 hours.  But throw in the fact that you don't want to completely drain your SLA, so let's take 80% of your SLAs capacity.  Theoretically, that gets you to ~ 8 hours on your 12v/5ah SLA running the MMe.

Caveat: "In theory, theory and practice are the same.  In practice, they're not."

Maybe someone who's actually run the thing can tell you for certain, but I'd bet money you'll be fine.
Milab VM-44 Links >
Naiant IPA (tinybox format) >
Roland R-05

Offline Bri

  • Complaint Dept.
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 3226
  • Gender: Male
  • There is nothing you can hold, for very long.
Re:powering a mini-me
« Reply #2 on: March 19, 2003, 02:44:28 PM »
yo hit it right on the nose bri #2.... ;)

Bri #1

Offline twoodruff

  • Trade Count: (89)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 4671
  • Gender: Male
Re:powering a mini-me
« Reply #3 on: March 19, 2003, 02:47:53 PM »
skalinder--

i ve heard through the vine you're selling your v2 and mod sbm-1 for a mini me is it? It'll be great to have a 140>mme source running around unless yer switching mics, then I disown you
Mics
Clamps
Cables
Preamp
Recorders

jpschust

  • Guest
  • Trade Count: (0)
Re:powering a mini-me
« Reply #4 on: March 19, 2003, 02:54:21 PM »
and if he switches those mics ill buy em :-)

Offline Brian Skalinder

  • Complaint Dept.
  • Trade Count: (27)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 18713
  • Gender: Male
Re:powering a mini-me
« Reply #5 on: March 19, 2003, 02:59:59 PM »
Nah, not switching mics, I'm very happy with my KM140s.  :D  Sorry, Jonny.  And sorry, Trey, I'm not that easy to disown.   :P

But yes, I'm selling my V2 and modSBM1.  Not for a MiniMe, though - for a V3!

So does running the V3 get me disowned, Trey?  lol

Can't wait to fire this sucker up (assuming it arrives), hopefully at a local show tomorrow night, Hillbilly Idol (traditional country/rockabilly/western swing...love the name).  Should be fun...
Milab VM-44 Links >
Naiant IPA (tinybox format) >
Roland R-05

Offline twoodruff

  • Trade Count: (89)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 4671
  • Gender: Male
Re:powering a mini-me
« Reply #6 on: March 19, 2003, 03:05:39 PM »
no 140>v3 will be interesting to hear, i m just a neumann fanatic, trying to book that flight to baghdad where u89s will be going for 20 bucks, Delta is not flying in there this week, am I missing something? I m in Mississippi so we dont get much newz
Mics
Clamps
Cables
Preamp
Recorders

Offline Mic D

  • Habitual Line Stepper
  • Trade Count: (17)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1995
  • Gender: Male
Re:powering a mini-me
« Reply #7 on: March 19, 2003, 05:06:44 PM »
D,

I use a 6v, 10 ah sla for my MME and it works great. I can get anywhere from 5-8 hrs out of it.

My $0.02
Kevin

Offline Stumptown Matt

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1602
  • Gender: Male
  • I'm a happy tapir!
Re:powering a mini-me
« Reply #8 on: March 19, 2003, 05:45:13 PM »
Jordan is the only country that has direct flight and I think they just cancelled them.  Plus the deadline is only about 2 hours away.  Maybe the Iraqis will start making cheap mics, like the Russians and the Chineese are doing now, after the war. ::)
When cleaning out her attic, Grace found several bootleg recordings her mother had made while traveling around the world with the Grateful Dead. Grace is not permitted to sell these bootleg recordings on eBay.

"If you like the Beach Boys, you'll love Widespread Panic."    -Big Mike
 
"Music Sounds Better on Grass" -Clear Channel advertising



.

Offline danmorgan

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1346
  • Gender: Male
Re:powering a mini-me
« Reply #9 on: March 19, 2003, 07:07:09 PM »
The 12/5 will be more than sufficient.  Anywhere between 6-8 hours approx.  The only thing the 12/12 for this time frame will do for you is weigh you down.

DaryanLenz

  • Guest
  • Trade Count: (0)
Re:powering a mini-me
« Reply #10 on: March 20, 2003, 10:49:55 AM »
I left the 12/12 at home, and am quite happy that I did!  Thanks guys for the info.  Now, how do I set this thing on low gain?  I ran with soft-lim it on due to the levels!  Tapes are fantastic though, set-up on stage dead center, and they are phenomenal!

Daryan

Offline creekfreak

  • Retired from taping
  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 8095
  • Gender: Male
  • My Son's School Bus
    • Rochester Groove
Re:powering a mini-me
« Reply #11 on: March 20, 2003, 11:45:57 AM »
got to open the sucker up and switch the jumpers. Instructions are in the manual, just hope your screws don't strip out like mine did. Had to send it back in to get fixed, which they did very quickly.
It is company policy never to imply ownership in the event of a dildo - We have to use the indefinite article; "A" dildo, never: "YOUR" dildo.
In Tyler we Trust

And isn't sanity really just a one-trick pony anyway? I mean all you get is one trick, rational thinking, but when you're good and crazy, ooh ooh ooh, the sky is the limit!

My Current Rig:2004 Subaru WRX STI, Stage 3, 360hp, 380lb-ft

DaryanLenz

  • Guest
  • Trade Count: (0)
Re:powering a mini-me
« Reply #12 on: March 20, 2003, 11:50:41 AM »
Thanks man!

Daryan

Offline creekfreak

  • Retired from taping
  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 8095
  • Gender: Male
  • My Son's School Bus
    • Rochester Groove
Re:powering a mini-me
« Reply #13 on: March 20, 2003, 11:55:45 AM »
It's not that hard to do, and highly recommened if you are doing a lot of PA taping.
It is company policy never to imply ownership in the event of a dildo - We have to use the indefinite article; "A" dildo, never: "YOUR" dildo.
In Tyler we Trust

And isn't sanity really just a one-trick pony anyway? I mean all you get is one trick, rational thinking, but when you're good and crazy, ooh ooh ooh, the sky is the limit!

My Current Rig:2004 Subaru WRX STI, Stage 3, 360hp, 380lb-ft

Offline JAH

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 785
  • The kids they dance, they shake their bones!
Re:powering a mini-me
« Reply #14 on: March 20, 2003, 01:02:56 PM »
hey now, iifn' you want to lighten your load ...go for the 6V/13AH batt.  a little thicker than the 6v/7ah but not twice the thickness.  Shold save you some lbs.  but you would have to spend the $$ for it.    maybe sell the 12 V'ers.
just a though.
peace
jah
Taping, it's a team sport!
km140/150>M148>mme or msbm-1
...yes screwdriver impaired
modified akg 461/2/ck8
iH120...and a slew of dat decks ;-(

 

RSS | Mobile
Page created in 0.116 seconds with 37 queries.
© 2002-2017 Taperssection.com
Powered by SMF
Website Design by Foxtrot Media, Inc., a Baltimore Website Company