Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Who has experience recording with a DSLR? Any good mid-priced suggestions?  (Read 8651 times)

Offline Ringside

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
Hello all,

I've been toying with the idea of upgrading my video camera. I record non stealth small shows at bars and clubs. Often with the bands prior approval.

I currently use a Sony camcorder, HDR CX260. It's okay but I'm looking for an alternative. I've been thinking about the Canon G20, but I can't find much in the way of concert samples that have been captures with that camcorder.

A lot of the better footage I see seems to have been captured with a DSLR. I have no experience using these, as I'm not too much into still photography. I'm wondering if there are any good mid priced options that are tried and tested as far as concert recording goes?

I like the idea of unofficial firmware updates to counter the 20 minute limit on some of them, this would probably be a must.

Thanks for reading!

Offline Phil Zone

• Trade Count: (22)
  • Taperssection All-Star
I think any canon dslr would be pleanty good. The important part is the lens, get one with a big max aperture and use manual focus if you can.
Microphones: AKG 460B, 480B, Naiant Actives,CK61,CK62,CK63, CK69, Busman BSC-1, CA-14
Preamps: (3) Naiant Littlebox, Naiant Tinyhead
Recorders: (2) Zoom F6, Tascam DR-05

LMA Shows: http://archive.org/search.php?query=taper%3A%22Cam%20Keough%22&sort=-date

Offline fguidry

• Trade Count: (2)
  • Taperssection Regular
    • Kaleponi - Slack Key in California
I'm hoping people say "DSLR" when they actually mean "interchangeable lens system camera" because the best ILSC cameras for video are not Digital Single Lens Reflex design but are mirrorless. These include the Panasonic Lumix G series, Sony A7xx and A6000, and Samsung NX1 and NX500.