Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Running 16/44.1 and 24/96 from V3  (Read 2672 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline scervin

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1739
  • Gender: Male
Running 16/44.1 and 24/96 from V3
« on: March 25, 2003, 03:25:39 PM »
Is there any way to do this w/o using the anaog outs.  If you split a 24/96 signal to a DAT would it even pickup the signal by dropping the bits??  I'm wondering how I could run a D8 and laptop from a V3. I guess I could always run the analog outs to line in on a d8 (this would just be for backup).
SC
SC

Offline Brian Skalinder

  • Complaint Dept.
  • Trade Count: (27)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 18714
  • Gender: Male
Re:Running 16/44.1 and 24/96 from V3
« Reply #1 on: March 25, 2003, 04:10:30 PM »
I don't think it can be done w/o the analog outs, Scott.  I'm a little bummed the V3 doesn't do:

[1] 16/44 and 24/96 simultaneously

and

[2] soft limit

Two nice features on the Minime I wish the V3 had.  But...all other factors pointed me to the V3 (duh, that's why I got one).

When I make the jump to 24-bit, I'll send the analog out to my D100 for backup.  I believe the D8/100 would truncate the 24-bit wordlengh down to 16-bit.

This is one reason I'm considering holding onto my modSBM-1 until I have the 24-bit deal completely sorted out 100%.

(My name is Brian, and I am a gear slut.)
Milab VM-44 Links >
Naiant IPA (tinybox format) >
Roland R-05

Offline twoodruff

  • Trade Count: (90)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 4671
  • Gender: Male
Re:Running 16/44.1 and 24/96 from V3
« Reply #2 on: March 25, 2003, 04:16:23 PM »
fwiw you cannot do 16/44.1 and 24/96 on the mini me simultaneously.
Mics
Clamps
Cables
Preamp
Recorders

Offline Brian Skalinder

  • Complaint Dept.
  • Trade Count: (27)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 18714
  • Gender: Male
Re:Running 16/44.1 and 24/96 from V3
« Reply #3 on: March 25, 2003, 04:31:12 PM »
fwiw you cannot do 16/44.1 and 24/96 on the mini me simultaneously.

Oops, my mistake.  Thanks for the correction, Trey!   :)
Milab VM-44 Links >
Naiant IPA (tinybox format) >
Roland R-05

Offline creekfreak

  • Retired from taping
  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 8095
  • Gender: Male
  • My Son's School Bus
    • Rochester Groove
Re:Running 16/44.1 and 24/96 from V3
« Reply #4 on: March 25, 2003, 04:31:23 PM »
according to the manual for the mini me you can send a 24/96 out of the AES port and send a 16/44.1 out the USB, not sure what good that would do for you using a DAT deck.
It is company policy never to imply ownership in the event of a dildo - We have to use the indefinite article; "A" dildo, never: "YOUR" dildo.
In Tyler we Trust

And isn't sanity really just a one-trick pony anyway? I mean all you get is one trick, rational thinking, but when you're good and crazy, ooh ooh ooh, the sky is the limit!

My Current Rig:2004 Subaru WRX STI, Stage 3, 360hp, 380lb-ft

Offline twoodruff

  • Trade Count: (90)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 4671
  • Gender: Male
Re:Running 16/44.1 and 24/96 from V3
« Reply #5 on: March 25, 2003, 04:39:18 PM »
I have tried and discussed this with a retailer of the unit, both me and "they" agreed it wasn't possible. I'm sure if the manual says you can then you can, but what do you select on the faceplate? Can't really select 2 different sample rates and the dither happening in the dat deck is not something you wanna hear. This is just opinion on my part but I believe passing both of the discussed signals to a dat and laptop is not possible, and that is fact. Not trying to start a pissing match, I aint even gotta pee
Mics
Clamps
Cables
Preamp
Recorders

Offline creekfreak

  • Retired from taping
  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 8095
  • Gender: Male
  • My Son's School Bus
    • Rochester Groove
Re:Running 16/44.1 and 24/96 from V3
« Reply #6 on: March 25, 2003, 05:06:33 PM »
Ok, based on the manuel, the USB port on the mini-me sends what the computer is set to. I guess what the USB port sends is set to what you set the computer to receive, meaning if you set the PC to 16/44.1 the USB port will send that while the AES will get 24/96. Manuel says its theoritcally possible but recommends you don't do it. So it's possible in theory, but probably no possible in the field. I am not making this up, just pulling it from the manual, but I would agree, for all praticle purposes it is not possible nor should be tried.   ;)
It is company policy never to imply ownership in the event of a dildo - We have to use the indefinite article; "A" dildo, never: "YOUR" dildo.
In Tyler we Trust

And isn't sanity really just a one-trick pony anyway? I mean all you get is one trick, rational thinking, but when you're good and crazy, ooh ooh ooh, the sky is the limit!

My Current Rig:2004 Subaru WRX STI, Stage 3, 360hp, 380lb-ft

Offline phatdats

  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • **
  • Posts: 168
    • phatdats.com
Re:Running 16/44.1 and 24/96 from V3
« Reply #7 on: March 25, 2003, 05:10:01 PM »
you CAN send out 2 different signals form a minime  - i do it all the time!! 1 thru the coax out (16/44.1 or 48) and a different setting out the usb.

i have been running 24/48 via usb to my laptop, and 16/44.1 to my d7.

the front panel switch controls the digi outs (coax/aes) and your software will allow you to select what incomming rate /length you want via usb.....

steve

Offline creekfreak

  • Retired from taping
  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 8095
  • Gender: Male
  • My Son's School Bus
    • Rochester Groove
Re:Running 16/44.1 and 24/96 from V3
« Reply #8 on: March 25, 2003, 05:30:37 PM »
That's what the manual said it can do, and now we have proof it works in the field  ;)
It is company policy never to imply ownership in the event of a dildo - We have to use the indefinite article; "A" dildo, never: "YOUR" dildo.
In Tyler we Trust

And isn't sanity really just a one-trick pony anyway? I mean all you get is one trick, rational thinking, but when you're good and crazy, ooh ooh ooh, the sky is the limit!

My Current Rig:2004 Subaru WRX STI, Stage 3, 360hp, 380lb-ft

Offline twoodruff

  • Trade Count: (90)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 4671
  • Gender: Male
Re:Running 16/44.1 and 24/96 from V3
« Reply #9 on: March 25, 2003, 06:07:17 PM »
what about 24/96? Can you send 24/96 via usb?

so you couldn't send two different signals out one via the spdif and the other aes? I am sending one to a neundo and one to a d10 pro II. Just wondering if this is possible. I think that may be where may confusion and misinformation came from. In other words, I was wrong.
Mics
Clamps
Cables
Preamp
Recorders

Offline Mic D

  • Habitual Line Stepper
  • Trade Count: (17)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1995
  • Gender: Male
Re:Running 16/44.1 and 24/96 from V3
« Reply #10 on: March 25, 2003, 06:26:24 PM »
A signal CAN'T be sent from a MME@24/96 via USB. Now I know that's true.  :)

Kevin

Offline hippies

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 830
  • Gender: Male
  • "What we all need is a left hand monkey wrench."
Re:Running 16/44.1 and 24/96 from V3
« Reply #11 on: March 25, 2003, 07:00:54 PM »
you CAN send out 2 different signals form a minime  - i do it all the time!! 1 thru the coax out (16/44.1 or 48) and a different setting out the usb.

i have been running 24/48 via usb to my laptop, and 16/44.1 to my d7.

the front panel switch controls the digi outs (coax/aes) and your software will allow you to select what incomming rate /length you want via usb.....

steve

sure, we do this all the time as well.  the Mme however will NOT do 96k at the present time over USB, you are limited to 48k.  i thought that was what Trey was talking about.  

24/48 over USB, and 16/48 or 16/44.1 over s/pdif simultaneously? no problem.  ;)

~S

Offline danmorgan

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1346
  • Gender: Male
Re:Running 16/44.1 and 24/96 from V3
« Reply #12 on: March 25, 2003, 07:05:39 PM »
There was a lot of discussion on Nutter's board on the 24/96 thru MMe usb port.  The software will take the 24/48(MMe usb max output) and make it appear to be recorded at 24/96.  See link below...

http://207.36.59.179/cgi-bin/yabb/YaBB.cgi?board=software;action=display;num=1045419934

Offline twoodruff

  • Trade Count: (90)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 4671
  • Gender: Male
Re:Running 16/44.1 and 24/96 from V3
« Reply #13 on: March 25, 2003, 07:12:50 PM »
yeah i think i started debating two different points, my original point was that you cannot record at 16/44.1 and 24/96 simultaneously. the other point came from nowhere and exceeded my knowledge as I m not a lappy yet.

trey
Mics
Clamps
Cables
Preamp
Recorders

Offline creekfreak

  • Retired from taping
  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 8095
  • Gender: Male
  • My Son's School Bus
    • Rochester Groove
Re:Running 16/44.1 and 24/96 from V3
« Reply #14 on: March 25, 2003, 07:48:36 PM »
My Bad!!! What the hell is a lappy.
It is company policy never to imply ownership in the event of a dildo - We have to use the indefinite article; "A" dildo, never: "YOUR" dildo.
In Tyler we Trust

And isn't sanity really just a one-trick pony anyway? I mean all you get is one trick, rational thinking, but when you're good and crazy, ooh ooh ooh, the sky is the limit!

My Current Rig:2004 Subaru WRX STI, Stage 3, 360hp, 380lb-ft

DaryanLenz

  • Guest
  • Trade Count: (0)
Re:Running 16/44.1 and 24/96 from V3
« Reply #15 on: March 25, 2003, 08:24:37 PM »
A laptop...go Mini-me
:-)-~~~~~~~~~~

Daryan

Offline creekfreak

  • Retired from taping
  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 8095
  • Gender: Male
  • My Son's School Bus
    • Rochester Groove
Re:Running 16/44.1 and 24/96 from V3
« Reply #16 on: March 25, 2003, 10:12:52 PM »
ahhhh, funny, I like that, haven't heard that one before :D
It is company policy never to imply ownership in the event of a dildo - We have to use the indefinite article; "A" dildo, never: "YOUR" dildo.
In Tyler we Trust

And isn't sanity really just a one-trick pony anyway? I mean all you get is one trick, rational thinking, but when you're good and crazy, ooh ooh ooh, the sky is the limit!

My Current Rig:2004 Subaru WRX STI, Stage 3, 360hp, 380lb-ft

 

RSS | Mobile
Page created in 0.173 seconds with 39 queries.
© 2002-2017 Taperssection.com
Powered by SMF
Website Design by Foxtrot Media, Inc., a Baltimore Website Company