Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: How Matched is Matched?  (Read 6134 times)

beenjammin

• Trade Count: (0)
How Matched is Matched?
« on: September 22, 2015, 11:24:36 AM »
I purchased a set of matched capsules and have noticed on my recorder a level difference. In setting up the two mikes next to one another, my DAW tells me there's about a 1-1.3dB difference between the caps. This difference is invariant amongst two sets of mike bodies -- so four mike preamps in total.

Now, in looking at a graph that shows the frequency response of the caps, everything seems visually dead on, save the total level, which is off by about a decibel.

The real question is: how do they sound? Well, the problem I'm having is that I'm new to cardioids and can't really say. I've done some tests in ORTF, which I rather like, and raising the "weak" cap sounds like the stereo image is being pulled unnaturally in favor of the newly raised side. But perhaps that's how it *should* should given the placement?

I'm not especially worried, and doing a number of tests has confirmed that I'm really digging these mikes. I guess I want to confirm that the difference in level is linear across the entire frequency spectrum so as to avoid a shifting image.

What do folks do in such a case as this: run a test tone and match the caps with that? Which frequency? 1000 kHz?

Offline aaronji

• Site Supporter
  • Trade Count: (9)
  • Needs to get out more...
Re: How Matched is Matched?
« Reply #1 on: September 22, 2015, 11:43:33 AM »
^ Personally, I'd call them matched if the frequency response is the same and it's just the sensitivities that are a decibel off.  What did the manufacturer promise as matched?

Offline Gutbucket

• record > listen > revise technique
  • Trade Count: (15)
  • "Better to love music than respect it" ~Stravinsky
« Reply #2 on: September 22, 2015, 11:54:27 AM »