Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Dither / Resample  (Read 1394 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline down2earthlandscaper

  • Multiple-Rig Maniac
  • Site Supporter
  • Trade Count: (24)
  • Taperssection Member
  • *
  • Posts: 522
  • Gender: Male
Dither / Resample
« on: October 05, 2016, 02:11:01 PM »
Newbie guestion: on dither/resample, is there any user input involved? Or is it all just a function of the software?

When I "save as" from Adobe Soundbooth I have options of selecting what file type, bit depth, sample rate etc.  Is that all there is to it?
Mics: CA-14(cards & omnis) and CA-11(cards & omnis) ; AT853's(cards, hypers, mini shotguns); Busman BSC-1 (cards, hypers, omnis)
Nakamichi CM300's (CP-1,2,3,4) Nakamichi CM700's (cards, omnis)
Tascam PE-120's (cards, omnis) Peluso CEMC-6 (cards and subcards)
DPA 4061's DPA 4022's
Preamps: CA-9100; Naiant Tinybox (12v/48v + PIP 8V); Naiant Littlebox;
DPA MPS6030; Sound Device Mix Pre-D
Decks: Sony PCM M10; Edirol R-4; Zoom H6; Marantz PMD-661; Sound Devices 722

Offline morst

  • Archivist: Camper Van Beethoven & Cracker
  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2458
  • Get in touch if you wanna record Cracker or CVB!
    • Soundscape Preservation Society
Re: Dither / Resample
« Reply #1 on: October 07, 2016, 04:05:31 AM »
Newbie guestion: on dither/resample, is there any user input involved? Or is it all just a function of the software?

When I "save as" from Adobe Soundbooth I have options of selecting what file type, bit depth, sample rate etc.  Is that all there is to it?
I don't dither, personally. But I also don't resample or reduce bit rates anymore. 2448 is good enough for my masters and it's good enough to send out.

I use Audacity or Soundforge but have used Protools and Digital Performer a lot, as well.
Teams: Neumann, Bay Area Tapers, Multitrack, Pioneertown Tapers, Mac Geeks, Cassette Masters, Poster Collectors, Alumni of teams St Louis, Upper Midwest & Milwaukee / Southern Wisco

Offline todd e

  • Site Supporter
  • Trade Count: (3)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *
  • Posts: 3435
  • Gender: Male
  • ***Team Schoeps***
Re: Dither / Resample
« Reply #2 on: October 07, 2016, 09:54:40 AM »
as with most nerdy taper things, there are lots of opinions on this subject matter.  some folks use the built-in converters, so use external converters. 

http://taperssection.com/index.php/topic,99454.0.html

Offline Sebastian

  • Trade Count: (3)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1074
  • Gender: Male
Re: Dither / Resample
« Reply #3 on: October 07, 2016, 05:13:29 PM »
Just saving the file as 16 bit will usually just truncate the bit depth from 24 to 16 bits. Therefore, you might want to manually dither before, then save the file as 16 bit. It will still be truncated - but because you dithered before, the truncation artifacts won't be as bad.
{Schoeps MK4 > NBob actives | MBHO KA 200 N} > {Naiant Tinybox v2.0 | Naiant IPA | Naiant PFAs} > {Zoom F8 | Sony PCM-M10 | Tascam DR-2d}

Recordings:
Live Music Archive | DaD Torrents | TTD Torrents | Etree Torrents

Offline Brian Skalinder

  • Complaint Dept.
  • Trade Count: (27)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 18706
  • Gender: Male
Re: Dither / Resample
« Reply #4 on: October 07, 2016, 08:00:26 PM »
Many audio editors have settings to control:
  • quality / speed of the resampling process; generally faster is lower quality / slower is higher quality; some applications may have other options
  • type of dither, e.g. none, triangular, etc.
  • whether or not to apply noise shaping and, if so, what kind
I'm not familiar with Soundbooth.  For software that includes these settings, the settings typically are accessible via some sort of preferences menu and / or built into the save dialog window or process. 
Milab VM-44 Links >
Naiant IPA (tinybox format) >
Roland R-05

Offline F.O.Bean

  • Is a 4 channel slut and
  • Trade Count: (121)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 40568
  • Gender: Male
  • Taperus Maximus
Re: Dither / Resample
« Reply #5 on: October 07, 2016, 09:37:49 PM »
I've done tons of A/B'ing of different Dithering/Resampling schemes on my home system, and my FAVORITES, are the iZotope 64-Bit SRC[Sample Rate Converter], at its HIGHEST settings, along with iZotope MBIT+ Dither at Ultra/High settings, which are BOTH in SoundForge 10/11! I also love the WaveLab Crystal Resampler, but the iZotope 64-Bit SRC sounds a tad more natural to me! But R8Brain is also a good/free resampling software. I've never used Audacity, but I'm sure it has some solid Resampling/Dithering options! Also, I was taught long ago to RESAMPLE[to 44.1kHz], and THEN DITHER[to 16-Bit]! In that order!

Try a few different plugins like I have done and see which ones you prefer! ;) Also, like Brian said, I ALWAYS do my settings at their MAXIMUM, since I want the highest quality every time, since it'll only be done once in my recordings history/life!
Schoeps MK4's | MK41's ->
Schoeps | NBob 250/05 KCY's ->
Schoeps VMS 02IB | Naiant +60v/Low Noise PFA's ->
DarkTrain Right Angle Stubby | GakCable XLR's ->
Sound Devices MixPre-6 | Tascam DR-70D ->
128gb | 64gb SanDisk Extreme Pro SDXC-I

http://www.archive.org/bookmarks/diskobean | http://www.archive.org/bookmarks/Bean420 | http://bt.etree.org/mytorrents.php

Offline voltronic

  • Trade Count: (27)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2377
  • Gender: Male
Re: Dither / Resample
« Reply #6 on: October 07, 2016, 10:08:36 PM »
Here's a neat tool to compare test results of a whole bunch of these:

http://src.infinitewave.ca/

I agree with Bean that iZotope SRC and dither does a great job.  I also do a lot of SR conversion with Foobar using the SoX resampler set to Linear Phase.  I also use it for playback.  If you check the plots from the SRC Comparisons site linked above, it appears to test as good or better than the other high end SRC programs.
DPA 4061 | Line Audio CM3 | Naiant X-Q
Naiant PFAs | Shure FP24
Tascam DR-70D JWMod | Sony PCM-M10

Tascam DR-70D FAQ
Team Line Audio
Quote
I am hitting my head against the walls, but the walls are giving way.    ///    If a composer could say what he had to say in words he would not bother trying to say it in music.
- Gustav Mahler

Offline down2earthlandscaper

  • Multiple-Rig Maniac
  • Site Supporter
  • Trade Count: (24)
  • Taperssection Member
  • *
  • Posts: 522
  • Gender: Male
Re: Dither / Resample
« Reply #7 on: October 07, 2016, 10:12:19 PM »
Great info. Thanks Everyone. I will check out the links. It's apparent that I have a whole 'nother area of post editing to get into and study!

But in the meantime, the simplicity of this is especially appealing:
Newbie guestion: on dither/resample, is there any user input involved? Or is it all just a function of the software?

When I "save as" from Adobe Soundbooth I have options of selecting what file type, bit depth, sample rate etc.  Is that all there is to it?
I don't dither, personally. But I also don't resample or reduce bit rates anymore. 2448 is good enough for my masters and it's good enough to send out.

I use Audacity or Soundforge but have used Protools and Digital Performer a lot, as well.
Mics: CA-14(cards & omnis) and CA-11(cards & omnis) ; AT853's(cards, hypers, mini shotguns); Busman BSC-1 (cards, hypers, omnis)
Nakamichi CM300's (CP-1,2,3,4) Nakamichi CM700's (cards, omnis)
Tascam PE-120's (cards, omnis) Peluso CEMC-6 (cards and subcards)
DPA 4061's DPA 4022's
Preamps: CA-9100; Naiant Tinybox (12v/48v + PIP 8V); Naiant Littlebox;
DPA MPS6030; Sound Device Mix Pre-D
Decks: Sony PCM M10; Edirol R-4; Zoom H6; Marantz PMD-661; Sound Devices 722

Offline buckster

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • **
  • Posts: 107
  • Gender: Male
Re: Dither / Resample
« Reply #8 on: October 08, 2016, 02:31:20 PM »
Also, I was taught long ago to RESAMPLE[to 44.1kHz], and THEN DITHER[to 16-Bit]! In that order!
Funny, I've been doing the opposite.   ;D   I'll flip it around and do it this way from now on.  Thanks.   :coolguy:

Offline Brian Skalinder

  • Complaint Dept.
  • Trade Count: (27)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 18706
  • Gender: Male
Re: Dither / Resample
« Reply #9 on: October 10, 2016, 04:22:47 PM »
But in the meantime, the simplicity of this [no dither] is especially appealing

On the other hand, setting a default preference for dither or specifying a setting during saving is only one to a few clicks more effort.
Milab VM-44 Links >
Naiant IPA (tinybox format) >
Roland R-05

Offline rigpimp

  • Trade Count: (13)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1416
  • Gender: Male
  • Jarts don't kill people!
Re: Dither / Resample
« Reply #10 on: October 12, 2016, 01:36:04 PM »
I also personally choose to no longer resample or dither.  24/48 or 24/96 is fine since it is just about disk space and backups these days. 

If I do dither / resample it is because an artist requested a CD(s).

When I do dither I choose iZotope's MBIT+
When I do resample I choose Voxengo's R8Brain

Use the SRC comparison tool above to get an idea how and why to choose one over the other.  Ive had that bookmarked and would've posted it here if someone didn't beat me to it.

Have fun!
Mics: Schoeps MK5 G MP, Schoeps CCM 4 Lg MP, Schoeps MK8 MP, nBob cables > PFA, KCY 250/5 > PFA
Pre/A>D/P48: Sonosax SX/M2, Sonosax SX/M2-LS, E.A.A. PSP-2, Naiant Tinybox, Neumann BS48i-2 (for sale)
Recorders: Sound Devices Mixpre-6, Sony PCM-M10

http://archive.org/bookmarks/kskreider

 

RSS | Mobile
Page created in 0.175 seconds with 33 queries.
© 2002-2017 Taperssection.com
Powered by SMF
Website Design by Foxtrot Media, Inc., a Baltimore Website Company