Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Running Nomad JB3 on Windows 10?  (Read 997 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Humbug

  • Trade Count: (4)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1939
  • Gender: Male
  • Humbug Hum Rejection Unit
    • Trading site
Running Nomad JB3 on Windows 10?
« on: November 06, 2016, 05:43:37 AM »
Might anyone be able to demonstrate how to run the drivers on a Windows 10 machine, please?

http://support.creative.com/Downloads/welcome.aspx

I've downloaded all the drivers, plus Creative Media Source 5, but all the installs fail - the media source can't find an installed machine, and the JB3 driver wont work either.

Yes, I still use this old tank for open taping! Love it and it's very reliable.

Cheers,

Humbug
UK based taper: SPCMC2(AT831)>CA9100 / PIPsqueak>iRiver H140/Nomad JB3
AT933(853C)>CA9100 / PIPsqueak>iRiver H140/Nomad JB3/iRiver H108 CF mod/Sony PCM-M10

http://www.archive.org/bookmarks/Humbug66

Offline Life In Rewind

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 829
Re: Running Nomad JB3 on Windows 10?
« Reply #1 on: November 06, 2016, 11:48:24 AM »
Unfortunately, I don't think anyone has ever been able to get it to work...
Audix M1280/Avantone CK-1/APEX 435/Altec 626A/TEAC ME-120/Sony ECM-999PR/Sony ECM-MS5
TASCAM DR-70D/Tricorder

Offline Ben Turnbull

  • Don't ask me about Audacity...
  • Trade Count: (13)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 8385
  • Gender: Male
  • A Clark Nova ate my lunch... Don't ask, just pee
Re: Running Nomad JB3 on Windows 10?
« Reply #2 on: November 06, 2016, 04:08:49 PM »
I feel your pain. I saw the end coming and moved to the M10 because the interface was not dependent on a transfer app.  If you could emulate XP or find a working XP machine, that would be the first step for sure.  Good luck
« Last Edit: November 10, 2016, 05:29:57 AM by Ben Turnbull »
Who came first, Dave King or Zack´╗┐ Galifianakis?...
-My name is Ben, and I'm an AQhaulic ranting hysterically in my dotage
Official Archivist for Jazz Central Studios, MinniMN
DPA4021/SKM140/NakCM1k/ADK A51s/ATes943/SPc4/och... > TinyBox OT> PCM-M10/DR-680/R4/T+mod UA5 needs attention

Offline Humbug

  • Trade Count: (4)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1939
  • Gender: Male
  • Humbug Hum Rejection Unit
    • Trading site
Re: Running Nomad JB3 on Windows 10?
« Reply #3 on: November 07, 2016, 07:31:36 AM »
Thank you both for the advice! I run a Windows XP machine, but it's clapped out, so I'm running it down by seeding a bunch of shows I didn't get round to.

Will do the last bunch of transfers from the JB3, then retire it.

Officially in the market for a second M10!
UK based taper: SPCMC2(AT831)>CA9100 / PIPsqueak>iRiver H140/Nomad JB3
AT933(853C)>CA9100 / PIPsqueak>iRiver H140/Nomad JB3/iRiver H108 CF mod/Sony PCM-M10

http://www.archive.org/bookmarks/Humbug66

Offline Life In Rewind

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 829
Re: Running Nomad JB3 on Windows 10?
« Reply #4 on: November 07, 2016, 09:12:30 AM »
Thank you both for the advice! I run a Windows XP machine, but it's clapped out, so I'm running it down by seeding a bunch of shows I didn't get round to.

Will do the last bunch of transfers from the JB3, then retire it.

Officially in the market for a second M10!

You could install something like Linux Mint on the old machine and use GNOMAD2 - that combo still works....

Might even be able to do a Virtual Box Linux install on the Win10 machine - not sure that's ever been tried.
Audix M1280/Avantone CK-1/APEX 435/Altec 626A/TEAC ME-120/Sony ECM-999PR/Sony ECM-MS5
TASCAM DR-70D/Tricorder

Offline admkrk

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1592
  • I'm an idiot
Re: Running Nomad JB3 on Windows 10?
« Reply #5 on: November 07, 2016, 08:05:44 PM »
The problem is most likely not due to Windows10, but 64 bit vs. 32 bit. A 32 bit driver will not work on a 64 bit machine.

It should work in a virtual machine, like suggested, though. If you have the XP disk, I would try that first since you are already familiar with the interface.
"the faster you go ahead, the behinder you get"

"If you can drink ram's piss, fuck, you can drink anything"

Offline Life In Rewind

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 829
Re: Running Nomad JB3 on Windows 10?
« Reply #6 on: November 07, 2016, 10:06:50 PM »
The problem is most likely not due to Windows10, but 64 bit vs. 32 bit. A 32 bit driver will not work on a 64 bit machine.

It should work in a virtual machine, like suggested, though. If you have the XP disk, I would try that first since you are already familiar with the interface.

Not sure - this is early USB stuff - like 1.0...?
Audix M1280/Avantone CK-1/APEX 435/Altec 626A/TEAC ME-120/Sony ECM-999PR/Sony ECM-MS5
TASCAM DR-70D/Tricorder

Offline admkrk

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1592
  • I'm an idiot
Re: Running Nomad JB3 on Windows 10?
« Reply #7 on: November 09, 2016, 11:50:40 PM »
Not sure what part you are disagreeing with, but USB should not matter, except for older versions not being able to transfer the data as fast.

If I remember correctly, the JB3 used a proprietary file system, which is why you cannot simply plug the HDD into a computer. The driver translates the file system into something the computer can understand.

I am not sure if either of my JB3 even work, or have the time to try installing drivers on a VM to test it.
"the faster you go ahead, the behinder you get"

"If you can drink ram's piss, fuck, you can drink anything"

Offline Life In Rewind

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 829
Re: Running Nomad JB3 on Windows 10?
« Reply #8 on: November 10, 2016, 12:34:16 AM »
Not sure what part you are disagreeing with, but USB should not matter, except for older versions not being able to transfer the data as fast.

If I remember correctly, the JB3 used a proprietary file system, which is why you cannot simply plug the HDD into a computer. The driver translates the file system into something the computer can understand.

I am not sure if either of my JB3 even work, or have the time to try installing drivers on a VM to test it.

I cant recall at this point - its USB 1.1 - But something (not supported by Windows anymore) on the JB3 side has kept it from working like most devices/drives.

If it weren't, surely somebody would have made it work by now...

I recall - the original software didn't even work that great to start with...

Worth noting the GNOMAD2 solution supports USB Only - it wont do the Firewire.
« Last Edit: November 10, 2016, 12:37:48 AM by Life In Rewind »
Audix M1280/Avantone CK-1/APEX 435/Altec 626A/TEAC ME-120/Sony ECM-999PR/Sony ECM-MS5
TASCAM DR-70D/Tricorder

Offline Life In Rewind

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 829
Re: Running Nomad JB3 on Windows 10?
« Reply #9 on: November 10, 2016, 12:36:07 AM »
Just remembered something...

dbPowerAmp made something callled "SVETA portable audio" - that supported the JB3

https://www.dbpoweramp.com/sveta-portable-audio.htm

But looks like support only went to XP...
Audix M1280/Avantone CK-1/APEX 435/Altec 626A/TEAC ME-120/Sony ECM-999PR/Sony ECM-MS5
TASCAM DR-70D/Tricorder

Offline admkrk

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1592
  • I'm an idiot
Re: Running Nomad JB3 on Windows 10?
« Reply #10 on: November 10, 2016, 09:29:09 PM »
Yes, that is the same as the JB3 drivers. 32 bit computers pretty much went extinct with Windows 7. It should be possible to get the drivers to work on any 32 bit system, which pretty much puts Vista at the top of the range, as far as Windows goes. I have got printers to work on my 64 bit Windows 7 machine by using 64 bit drivers for similar printers, for example. Since there are no similar devices to the JB3, that is not an option. I see no reason for it not to work on an XP virtual machine though, or any 32 bit Linux VM either, with the right driver. I have several VMs, and the only real problems I have are with the MAC ones.
"the faster you go ahead, the behinder you get"

"If you can drink ram's piss, fuck, you can drink anything"

 

RSS | Mobile
Page created in 0.157 seconds with 33 queries.
© 2002-2017 Taperssection.com
Powered by SMF
Website Design by Foxtrot Media, Inc., a Baltimore Website Company