Gear / Technical Help > Microphones & Setup

RØDE NT-SF1

(1/5) > >>

BlindGuyEars:
In time for the @NABshow, #RØDE Mics announces its first broadcast-grade, 360-degree capture mic.

The @SoundFieldMic By RØDE NT-SF1 is the first true condenser #ambisonic mic available under USD $1000.

http://www.rode.com/nt-sf1

Now, can someone tell me how Ambisonics differs from say, binaural?

heathen:
I'm no expert, but the main difference is that ambisonic mics basically capture sound at a single point, whereas binaural mics are positioned at the ears (so there's not only space but also a baffle).  There is software that can create binaural sound from an ambisonic recording.

Another big difference is that an ambisonic mic gives you flexibility in manipulating the recording in post (for example, you can take a single ambisonic recording and, with software, convert it to Blumlein, XY cards, XY hypers, omni, etc), whereas that is not the case for binaural.

Gutbucket:
To expound on that a bit-

Think of Ambisonics as Mid/Side -  except 3-dimensional, and with an unconstrained relationship between pickup pattern and microphone angle.  So no need to choose a Mid pattern, or even point the mic in any specific direction beforehand (you do need to know its orientation, it just doesn't matter which way it points).  You can choose any pattern and point the virtual mics in any direction afterwards.  That flexibility is its advantage.   The drawbacks are that it is limited to coincident patterns only, requires 4 recorded channels, and requires post-recording decisions and processing.