Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Homegrown WAVE header repair utility  (Read 45487 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline justink

  • Trade Count: (4)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1610
  • Gender: Male
Re: Homegrown WAVE header repair utility
« Reply #45 on: August 17, 2008, 10:21:03 PM »
got a problem w/ my second 24/96 file from DMB last night... how do i use the mac version?

the tape smokes, and i'd hate to lose it.

-j
Mics:
DPA 4028 (wide cards)
DPA 4023 (cards)
Earthworks TC25 (omnis) 
AT853u (cards, hypers)
Sound Professionals (omnis)


Pres and a/d's:
Oade ACM Grace Lunatec V3
bm2p+ Edirol UA-5
Sound Professionals 2 wire battbox w/ rolloff

Recorders:
Oade CM Edirol R-44
Edirol R-09

Offline thirtyfour

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Gender: Male
    • spfc.org
Re: Homegrown WAVE header repair utility
« Reply #46 on: August 23, 2008, 03:59:37 AM »
Just found this thread on a search & tried running it on a file I recorded last year w/ an R-09 that somehow powered itself down while taping (I -swear- it was on HOLD -_-;)...  When I copied it to my machine, it "looked" ok ("file" even showed the right settings), but the wav just wouldn't play in ANYthing.

The Mac version came up with REALLY bizarre numbers, and actually ended up setting the header to those values, despite me entering in the correct ones (512 channels at 1152122880 Hz???), but the linux version worked like a charm, recognized the correct settings right away, added TWO BYTES to the total file size, and now it's open in audacity, looking great!

Kudos to you, pigiron.


@justink: to use the Mac version, open a Terminal window, & just type "./fixwav file.wav" (adjusting for path if necessary).  The file must end in .wav (lowercase), so you might have to rename it if it's all caps.

Offline libfab

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • **
  • Posts: 72
  • Gender: Male
Re: Homegrown WAVE header repair utility
« Reply #47 on: August 23, 2008, 06:02:43 AM »
Hi,
Which Linux version did you try? The one I posted in this thread above, or a build from pigiron's original code (as for the Mac version)?
Fab

Online JD

  • Trade Count: (9)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1633
Re: Homegrown WAVE header repair utility
« Reply #48 on: September 07, 2008, 05:36:39 PM »
This utility just saved another recording....Thank you, Thank you, Thank You! ;D
Mics: DPA 4022, 4060; Nevaton MC51, MCE400; Gefell sms2000, m20, m21, m27
Pres: DPA MMA6000; Grace V2; Portico 5012; Sonosax SX-M2
Recorders: Edirol R09hr, Sound Devices 722

Offline manitouman

  • Trade Count: (36)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2018
  • Gender: Female
  • Los Bulls!!!
Re: Homegrown WAVE header repair utility
« Reply #49 on: September 10, 2008, 08:07:46 PM »
Trying to fix a Foo file but this is what I get...


D:\My Recordings\Foo Fighters RR N2\Fixed 0035 file>fixwav file0035.wav

Existing header data. Look for the words 'RIFF', 'WAVE', 'fmt',
or 'data' to see if this is even a somewhat valid WAVE header:

00000000:  00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 ................
00000010:  00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 ................
00000020:  00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00             ............

Exit the program now? [y/n] n
The total file size is 1999952896 bytes
Chunk Size of 0 at offset 4 is incorrect... repairing
Chunk Format at offset 8 is incorrect... repairing
Subchunk1 ID at offset 12 is incorrect... repairing
Subchunk1 Size at offset 16 is incorrect... repairing
Subchunk1 Format at offset 20 is incorrect... repairing
Is the file recorded in 0 channels?  [y/n] n
Enter number of channels... 1=Mono, 2=Stereo, etc: 2
Is the number of samples per second = 0?  [y/n] n
Enter number of samples per second: 96000
Is the number of bits per sample = 0?  [y/n] n
Enter number of bits per sample: 24
Subchunk1 Format at offset 24 is incorrect... repairing
Subchunk1 Bytes Per Sample at offset 32 is incorrect... repairing
Subchunk2 ID at offset 36 is incorrect... repairing
Subchunk2 Size at offset 40 is incorrect... repairing
Found incorrect number of audio samples. This means that either
   the new WAVE header data is incorrect, or the audio samples
   in the existing file were clobbered. Do you wish to add silent
   audio samples to the end of the file?
   WARNING: this will modify the existing file. [y/n]

Then I press to continue it says the header needs repair, I click yes and the window disappears. I go to play the selection and it's nothing but static. Am I doing something wrong? I've done just like suggested: create text file, change to .bat file, make sure fixwave + corrupt file + .bat file in same folder and double click bat file. I've ran through a few times and the same result. Recording is in 24/96.

Thanks!
Mics: AKG CK31, CK32>LM 3> MPA III


Offline live2496

  • Trade Count: (6)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 673
    • Gidluck Mastering
Re: Homegrown WAVE header repair utility
« Reply #50 on: September 10, 2008, 08:27:44 PM »
Run it again so we can see what the RIFF header looks like now.

If you are getting static, then the framing is off. You might have to import is as a raw file into an audio editor.

Gordon




« Last Edit: September 10, 2008, 08:34:42 PM by live2496 »
oktava mc012 or dpa4060 > mic2496 > pdaudio
mackie cr1604 > rme multiface > lenovo laptop

Offline manitouman

  • Trade Count: (36)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2018
  • Gender: Female
  • Los Bulls!!!
Re: Homegrown WAVE header repair utility
« Reply #51 on: September 10, 2008, 09:06:40 PM »
Here's what I got...


D:\My Recordings\Foo Fighters RR N2\Fixed 0035 file>fixwav file0035.wav

Existing header data. Look for the words 'RIFF', 'WAVE', 'fmt',
or 'data' to see if this is even a somewhat valid WAVE header:

00000000:  52 49 46 46 FC DB 34 77 57 41 56 45 66 6D 74 20 RIFF..4wWAVEfmt
00000010:  10 00 00 00 01 00 02 00 00 77 01 00 00 CA 08 00 .........w......
00000020:  06 00 18 00 64 61 74 61 D8 DB 34 77             ....data..4w

Exit the program now? [y/n]
Mics: AKG CK31, CK32>LM 3> MPA III


Offline live2496

  • Trade Count: (6)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 673
    • Gidluck Mastering
Re: Homegrown WAVE header repair utility
« Reply #52 on: September 10, 2008, 09:38:54 PM »
Yes, it looks like the utility fixed the header.

Do you have access to Samplitude? If so, the file can be imported with different starting byte offsets to the data.
If that is out of the question PM me.
oktava mc012 or dpa4060 > mic2496 > pdaudio
mackie cr1604 > rme multiface > lenovo laptop

Offline manitouman

  • Trade Count: (36)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2018
  • Gender: Female
  • Los Bulls!!!
Re: Homegrown WAVE header repair utility
« Reply #53 on: September 10, 2008, 09:47:38 PM »
PM sent...
Mics: AKG CK31, CK32>LM 3> MPA III


Offline Javier Cinakowski

  • !! Downhill From Here !!
  • Trade Count: (10)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 4306
  • Gender: Male
Re: Homegrown WAVE header repair utility
« Reply #54 on: September 19, 2008, 05:12:33 PM »
Hell yeah!  This program saved set two my TLG from wed....  CEP was saving my file and my computer overheated and shutdown. 
Audio-Technica AT8022-> Sony PCM-M10

Offline flipzoso

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 258
    • The Marble Shrine
Re: Homegrown WAVE header repair utility
« Reply #55 on: October 09, 2008, 09:18:26 PM »
This program saved my file! Thank you very much.

Offline hawghunter

  • Trade Count: (4)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 380
  • Gender: Male
  • Planet of Sound
Re: Homegrown WAVE header repair utility
« Reply #56 on: November 03, 2008, 09:11:39 PM »
Here's what I got...


D:\My Recordings\Foo Fighters RR N2\Fixed 0035 file>fixwav file0035.wav

Existing header data. Look for the words 'RIFF', 'WAVE', 'fmt',
or 'data' to see if this is even a somewhat valid WAVE header:

00000000:  52 49 46 46 FC DB 34 77 57 41 56 45 66 6D 74 20 RIFF..4wWAVEfmt
00000010:  10 00 00 00 01 00 02 00 00 77 01 00 00 CA 08 00 .........w......
00000020:  06 00 18 00 64 61 74 61 D8 DB 34 77             ....data..4w

Exit the program now? [y/n]

Ok I got it do something similar to this. I exit program, the file only changed to 2.70 KB.
I even opened as a raw file in audition. Nothing there, so anything else to try? I think I'm screwed.
ISO: NIRVANA :), 8/15/91 - The Roxy

930's > MMe

Offline live2496

  • Trade Count: (6)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 673
    • Gidluck Mastering
Re: Homegrown WAVE header repair utility
« Reply #57 on: November 03, 2008, 10:06:39 PM »
Need more info...

So was this recorded on a microtracker? If so do you have the original file on the media?
Can you copy the file from the media to windows? If so what size is it after you copy it?

What we need to determine is whether or not all of the data was copied from the microtracker successfully. If not you might need to run some data recovery software.

Sometimes it's not just a matter of fixing up the tags in the header. Sometimes the data needs recovering.
oktava mc012 or dpa4060 > mic2496 > pdaudio
mackie cr1604 > rme multiface > lenovo laptop

Offline hawghunter

  • Trade Count: (4)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 380
  • Gender: Male
  • Planet of Sound
Re: Homegrown WAVE header repair utility
« Reply #58 on: November 03, 2008, 10:29:58 PM »
yes, MT was used.
no, but may be able to recover.
yes transferred to windows, 0 b, but now it's 2.7KB.

I was thinking a recovery from the CF card would be nessary. It was file 82, and I still 83 on the card so maybe able to recover. just need to find a program maybe.

Thanks for the reply !
ISO: NIRVANA :), 8/15/91 - The Roxy

930's > MMe

Offline live2496

  • Trade Count: (6)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 673
    • Gidluck Mastering
Re: Homegrown WAVE header repair utility
« Reply #59 on: November 04, 2008, 07:11:41 PM »
Since you can only read 2.7kb it seems that there are lost clusters on the media. In other words, the data is likely there, but there is no information in the file allocation table telling which clusters are in use by that file or files.

To correct the file allocation table, you might try the chkdsk utility.

Start->Run. In the window enter "cmd" and press enter.

type "chkdsk /f d:"

...where d: is the drive letter of the mounted CF card.

The /f switch tells chkdsk to fix errors.

Once the data is relinked, you should be able to copy the file (in it's entirety) to your hard disk.
After that, you may need to run the wave header repair utility to correct the header.

More info on chkdsk is here: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Disk_checker
oktava mc012 or dpa4060 > mic2496 > pdaudio
mackie cr1604 > rme multiface > lenovo laptop

 

RSS | Mobile
Page created in 0.155 seconds with 37 queries.
© 2002-2017 Taperssection.com
Powered by SMF
Website Design by Foxtrot Media, Inc., a Baltimore Website Company