Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Aerco MP-2 preamp - Part 2  (Read 54400 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline manitouman

  • Trade Count: (36)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2018
  • Gender: Female
  • Los Bulls!!!
Re: Aerco MP-2 preamp - Part 2
« Reply #15 on: July 03, 2009, 08:58:31 PM »
I have a Tekkeon MP3400.  Grabbed from eBay.  They are not cheap as a Wally bat.  Run ya about $100.00.  Worth it for me, for my Nak 1K's get prickly when the voltage drops below 9V.
he could prob get away with a 9v dvd battery though don't you think?
the 9v dvd is well tested with a ua5 and akg

That's exactly what I'm using. The same kind of battery I use for the V3. It just takes a different type of connector. I've been running both AKG 48X and DPA 4023's in front of the Aerco. If something happened to the recording by not enough juice to the mics, I'll know in the next few days while I work on them. From what I've heard, nothing happened to quality. I'll post later with results, good or bad.

For what it's worth, this little box is awesome!  ;D

EDIT: Everything is good! Like I said, this little box rocks! Very happy with the results of my recordings from the past three shows.
« Last Edit: July 04, 2009, 12:16:00 AM by manitouman »
Mics: AKG CK31, CK32>LM 3> MPA III


Offline spyder9

  • Trade Count: (60)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 12167
  • Gender: Male
  • "Are you Zman!?"
    • My Archived shows
Re: Aerco MP-2 preamp - Part 2
« Reply #16 on: July 04, 2009, 11:39:36 AM »
I have a Tekkeon MP3400.  Grabbed from eBay.  They are not cheap as a Wally bat.  Run ya about $100.00.  Worth it for me, for my Nak 1K's get prickly when the voltage drops below 9V.
he could prob get away with a 9v dvd battery though don't you think?
the 9v dvd is well tested with a ua5 and akg

My Naks will drop 6 db in one channel if the voltage slips below 9v.  I've used the Walmart and the 9.6 NMH batteries, but to no avail.  Since the Aerco can accept up to 18v, the Tekkeon gets the job done.  Tekkeon goes all the way up to 19v.  Clean.  No issues.   

Offline manitouman

  • Trade Count: (36)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2018
  • Gender: Female
  • Los Bulls!!!
Re: Aerco MP-2 preamp - Part 2
« Reply #17 on: July 04, 2009, 11:44:57 AM »
^^^That's good to know. I may have to switch it up just to be on the safe side. I'd rather be safe than sorry. I wouldn't want anything to happen right at the critical moment with the headliner. Thanks for the info!  ;D
Mics: AKG CK31, CK32>LM 3> MPA III


stevetoney

  • Guest
  • Trade Count: (0)
Re: Aerco MP-2 preamp - Part 2
« Reply #18 on: July 05, 2009, 12:40:58 AM »
I wouldn't want anything to happen right at the critical moment with the headliner. Thanks for the info!  ;D

^^ That's why I love the Tekkeon.  In my case, I have the high capacity power runner, which is the father or grandfather of the Tekkeon.  Anyway, with the Tekkeon, you have ample capacity and variable voltage available to you.  Yes, they're expensive but everyone knows that having peace of mind in the field with regards to power is worth it's weight in gold.  (since we've all had shows where remote power problems kicked out butts.)  So, DVD batteries are usually good, but that Tekkeon is great! 

Offline manitouman

  • Trade Count: (36)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2018
  • Gender: Female
  • Los Bulls!!!
Re: Aerco MP-2 preamp - Part 2
« Reply #19 on: July 05, 2009, 09:03:58 PM »
I can't find a 3400, here's a MP3450. Would that work?

http://www.amazon.com/Tekkeon-MP3450-myPower-Rechargeable-Battery/dp/B000S9JWJI/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=electronics&qid=1246842100&sr=8-1

Because there's also a MP3450i. Not sure which is which or how they are different.
Mics: AKG CK31, CK32>LM 3> MPA III


Offline dennisrtyler

  • Trade Count: (21)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 4833
  • Gender: Male
Re: Aerco MP-2 preamp - Part 2
« Reply #20 on: July 05, 2009, 09:20:44 PM »
I can't find a 3400, here's a MP3450. Would that work?

http://www.amazon.com/Tekkeon-MP3450-myPower-Rechargeable-Battery/dp/B000S9JWJI/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=electronics&qid=1246842100&sr=8-1

Because there's also a MP3450i. Not sure which is which or how they are different.
here's the spec sheet for their different models. i had 2 of the 3300s back when i had my P2 and they rock.
http://www.tekkeon.com/products-mypall-specs.html
4. im so abrasive i make sandpaper nervous.

Schoeps CMR/? > Naiant PFA > Oade Concert Mod Marantz PMD-661

stevetoney

  • Guest
  • Trade Count: (0)
Re: Aerco MP-2 preamp - Part 2
« Reply #21 on: July 05, 2009, 09:26:17 PM »
I can't find a 3400, here's a MP3450. Would that work?

http://www.amazon.com/Tekkeon-MP3450-myPower-Rechargeable-Battery/dp/B000S9JWJI/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=electronics&qid=1246842100&sr=8-1

Because there's also a MP3450i. Not sure which is which or how they are different.
It looks to me like that's exactly what you'd want.  The only thing to question is whether the proper tip is included and if it's not whether the standard Radio Shack tips are compaible.  FWIW, the cable I have with my Power Runner is compatible with the RS tips, so I'm gonna say that I think that the answer is 'yes' to that question, although I can't say whether one of the nine tips packaged with the 3450 is one that would fit with the Aerco.  

Finally, in reading through the Amazon link, I'm in agreement that I can't really see the obvious difference between the 3450 and 3450i...it looks to me like the 3450 would work fine for you and I know it would last for mega-hours.

I absolutely worship my power runner, which I've used recently at Bonnaroo and Summercamp to power my R-09HR...both times it finally ran out half-way through the last day of the festival.  So for summercamp, that was 3 1/2 days and for Bonnaroo that was 2 1/2 days, but the second day of Bonnaroo for me started at 12:00 noon and didn't end until 6:00am the next morning (moe latenight!)

Offline spyder9

  • Trade Count: (60)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 12167
  • Gender: Male
  • "Are you Zman!?"
    • My Archived shows
Re: Aerco MP-2 preamp - Part 2
« Reply #22 on: July 05, 2009, 09:53:12 PM »
The proper tip for the Aerco did come with the Tekkeon OEM package, btw.  Nice solid fit.

Offline edtyre

  • Trade Count: (52)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1836
  • Gender: Male
  • Team Philly " No Excuses, Just Tapes"
Re: Aerco MP-2 preamp - Part 2
« Reply #23 on: July 05, 2009, 10:10:54 PM »
I can't find a 3400, here's a MP3450. Would that work?

http://www.amazon.com/Tekkeon-MP3450-myPower-Rechargeable-Battery/dp/B000S9JWJI/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=electronics&qid=1246842100&sr=8-1

Because there's also a MP3450i. Not sure which is which or how they are different.

I bought one here for 82.00 and free shipping

http://www.buy.com/prod/tekkeon-mypower-all-plus-mp3450-10-extended-general-purpose-battery/q/loc/101/208787453.html

works great with my aerco and my r-44 like others have said
music>mics>pre>recorder

Offline dactylus

  • Site Supporter
  • Trade Count: (34)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *
  • Posts: 4522
  • Gender: Male
  • Saint Paul, MN
Re: Aerco MP-2 preamp - Part 2
« Reply #24 on: July 06, 2009, 07:05:53 AM »
I can't find a 3400, here's a MP3450. Would that work?

http://www.amazon.com/Tekkeon-MP3450-myPower-Rechargeable-Battery/dp/B000S9JWJI/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=electronics&qid=1246842100&sr=8-1

Because there's also a MP3450i. Not sure which is which or how they are different.

I bought one here for 82.00 and free shipping

http://www.buy.com/prod/tekkeon-mypower-all-plus-mp3450-10-extended-general-purpose-battery/q/loc/101/208787453.html

works great with my aerco and my r-44 like others have said

The buy.com link is for the MP3450-10 "extender" battery. It allows you to attach both  batteries in parallel...  The MP3450-10 "extender" can be used to be used in combination with the MP3450 to double your battery life.

Here is the Amazon link to both original battery + extender:



It appears that the MP3450i has only 5 adapter tips and the MP3450 has 9 adapter tips.  That seems to be the only difference.

http://www.amazon.com/Tekkeon-MP3450-myPower-Rechargeable-Battery/dp/B000S9JWJI/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=electronics&qid=1246842100&sr=8-1


Add myPower ALL Plus MP3450-10 Extended General Purpose Battery to myPower ALL Plus MP3450 battery or MP3700 battery and double your battery capacity. Bracket to connect two units is included. Must be used with myPower ALL Plus MP3450 or MP3700. It cannot be used independently.

That last statement appears to be incorrect, it sounds like the MP3450-10 is being used independently by Ed.
 

http://www.amazon.com/Tekkeon-myPower-Extended-Battery-MP3450-10/dp/B0017DS0SS/ref=pd_bxgy_e_text_b




« Last Edit: July 06, 2009, 07:23:53 AM by dactylus »
hot licks > microphones > recorder



...ball of confusion, that's what the world is today, hey hey...

Offline edtyre

  • Trade Count: (52)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1836
  • Gender: Male
  • Team Philly " No Excuses, Just Tapes"
Re: Aerco MP-2 preamp - Part 2
« Reply #25 on: July 06, 2009, 09:58:36 AM »
Add myPower ALL Plus MP3450-10 Extended General Purpose Battery to myPower ALL Plus MP3450 battery or MP3700 battery and double your battery capacity. Bracket to connect two units is included. Must be used with myPower ALL Plus MP3450 or MP3700. It cannot be used independently.

That last statement appears to be incorrect, it sounds like the MP3450-10 is being used independently by Ed.
 
http://www.amazon.com/Tekkeon-myPower-Extended-Battery-MP3450-10/dp/B0017DS0SS/ref=pd_bxgy_e_text_b


No, i screwed up. That's not what i got. Sorry! I bought a TEKKEON MP3300 MYPOWER
for that price and it works great. Although they look alike the 3450 is more powerful and has a 5v usb port as well.
Here's the correct link
http://www.buy.com/prod/tekkeon-lithium-polymer-battery-lithium-polymer-li-polymer-portable/q/loc/111/201658262.html
Here's a link to the differences
http://www.tekkeon.com/products-mypall-specs.html
« Last Edit: July 06, 2009, 10:11:32 AM by edtyre »
music>mics>pre>recorder

Offline manitouman

  • Trade Count: (36)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2018
  • Gender: Female
  • Los Bulls!!!
Re: Aerco MP-2 preamp - Part 2
« Reply #26 on: July 06, 2009, 10:31:46 AM »
How many hours of run time did you get with the 3300?
Mics: AKG CK31, CK32>LM 3> MPA III


Offline edtyre

  • Trade Count: (52)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1836
  • Gender: Male
  • Team Philly " No Excuses, Just Tapes"
Re: Aerco MP-2 preamp - Part 2
« Reply #27 on: July 06, 2009, 05:22:43 PM »
How many hours of run time did you get with the 3300?

Don't know how long? But i have used it a few times for 6-7 hours and only used two lights.
Same with the r-44  both @12volts

I'll add that for my 12 volt ad2k+ it won't power it past 3 hours
« Last Edit: July 06, 2009, 05:28:09 PM by edtyre »
music>mics>pre>recorder

Offline audBall

  • Trade Count: (33)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • Posts: 5676
  • Gender: Male
Re: Aerco MP-2 preamp - Part 2
« Reply #28 on: July 06, 2009, 05:33:13 PM »
Don't forget, the 3450 has the ability to add the "extension pack" for double the capacity!

Not sure we'd need to run the Aerco for days, but I'm sure it's applicable somewhere.   ;)

Offline manitouman

  • Trade Count: (36)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2018
  • Gender: Female
  • Los Bulls!!!
Re: Aerco MP-2 preamp - Part 2
« Reply #29 on: August 03, 2009, 03:12:28 PM »
Got my Tekkeon and everything has been running great. Met a taper at Red Rocks who planted a seed of new ideas. So I've got the cables coming but wondered: Do I have to calibrate, if that's the term used, the Aerco with the SD702 like I had to do for the V3>SD702? With the V3>SD combo I run line in and then lowered the gain -5.0dB in each channel so that the gain would be accurate and match.

Anyone know if I have to do this with the Aerco? I still intend to run line in on the SD702.
Mics: AKG CK31, CK32>LM 3> MPA III


 

RSS | Mobile
Page created in 0.237 seconds with 37 queries.
© 2002-2017 Taperssection.com
Powered by SMF
Website Design by Foxtrot Media, Inc., a Baltimore Website Company