Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: need help with recording own gigs..  (Read 3499 times)

Offline 6_strings_for_life

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
need help with recording own gigs..
« on: July 12, 2006, 09:37:12 PM »
Hello everyone, I was guided by an online friend here when I proposed a question to him about how I should record my own gigs.  This site seems to be a great find and a wonderful community.  Now here is the question.  I am a musician that does solo gigs aroung my town and I have been asked many times for live recordings.  Now I play through a Peavey Eacoustic 112 amp and a Shure SM58 Mic, along with a few effects petals.  Now the amp has an XLR output that im assuming can be used for a situation such as this.  I have a iRiver iHP-140 mp3 player that Ive heard has been used by others to get good results. What else do I need or what is the best way to hook up my iRiver?  Im a college student with a limited budget so cheap recommendations would be appreciated.

Thanks in advance for all help..
Time is Just a Melody...

Offline beefstew

• Taperssection Member
Re: need help with recording own gigs..
« Reply #1 on: July 12, 2006, 09:38:33 PM »
well u have acess to the soundboard right?
*Audio*
Mics:
SP-CMC-19
Panasonic WM61a

Recorders:
MZ-RH910 (Hi-MD)
Sony TC-WE435 (CASS)

*Video*
Canon ZR-500 [Mini DV]
54" Tripod

I spend most of my money on gambling, booze, and women. The rest i spend foolishly.

• Taperssection Newbie
« Reply #2 on: July 12, 2006, 09:39:47 PM »
no, I dont own a soundboard.  I almost always use my own equipment...
Time is Just a Melody...

• Taperssection Newbie
« Reply #3 on: July 12, 2006, 09:49:50 PM »
what are you trying to accomplish? a direct sound, like the sbd mix? or, something with more ambience?

Im trying to record my entire live shows through my amp.

I have no idea what a sbd mix is.
Time is Just a Melody...

Offline pfife

• Emperor of Ticketucky
  • Needs to get out more...