Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: H-2 or R-09??? I need to pull this trigger soon...  (Read 7152 times)

Offline aaronji

• Site Supporter
  • Trade Count: (9)
  • Needs to get out more...
H-2 or R-09??? I need to pull this trigger soon...
« on: October 10, 2007, 05:15:34 AM »
Hey all!  I hope you'll forgive my simple question, but I just don't know...

I have been a sharer for a while, and have finally decided to take the plunge so I can contribute something original to the community at large...

I have a show next week (Rush in Rotterdam) that I would like to record.  I have pretty much narrowed my choices of recorder to the Edirol R-09 or the Zoom H-2.  From what I have read (and there is a dizzying amount), I can't really tell whether it is worth the extra cash for the R-09...

Since I am a total newbie, I hope to keep it simple until I get a little experience.  Also, in early November, I will be seeing Brad Mehldau and Joshua Redman in Budapest.  I'd like to get those taped too, but they are sonically very different from something like Rush, so I guess versatility is important too...

Thanks for your help!

P.S.  Since Rush is a week away, I need to do this quickly.

Offline fmaderjr

• Trade Count: (16)
  • Taperssection All-Star
Re: H-2 or R-09??? I need to pull this trigger soon...
« Reply #1 on: October 10, 2007, 06:37:25 AM »
I definitely wouldn't get the H-2 if you are planning to use an external mic. Reports on the Zoom forum are that the H-2 mic preamp is quite noisy with all external mics tested (but not when using the on board mics).

Even using the internal mics, you could run into problems with the H-2 because someone also reported on that site that the if the H-2 signal is clipping at the L/M/H setting you choose, adjusting the digital gain won't prevent the clipping. If you turn down the gain apparently you are just reducing the volume of the already recorded signal after it has been processed by the A-D converter.