Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: DAT to PC transfer  (Read 4494 times)

Offline jeenash

• Trade Count: (4)
  • Taperssection Regular
DAT to PC transfer
« on: January 26, 2014, 04:04:57 PM »
Hello all, My name is Greg. It's my first time posting here so I am sorry if I'm asking already covered questions. I just recently decided I have to do something to preserve my collection of 200-300 tapes(mostly pre 2000 Phish but some rare stuff too). I had 2 broken decks for 15 years or so I just picked up a Tascam DA-P1 from ebay that works surprisingly well. I also found a M-Audio 192 card that has the coax spdif input. I had to borrow an older PC because who knew that newer PCs don't have PCI slots they have PCIE slots (yes I'm a complete moron when it comes to computers). I have been successfully transferring using CD wave and I have been letting the soundcard do the sample rate conversion to 44.1 in the event I want to burn a CD. My question is, am I making a mistake by converting the sample rate by soundcard or should I be doing it with software? I'm about 30 tapes deep now and I figured I might want some input before going any further. Eventually I'd like to split the tracks, convert to flac and create some torrents but I figure its best to just get the tapes preserved while the deck still works. When the time comes I'll have lots of questions on those things. Thanks.

runonce

• Trade Count: (0)
Re: DAT to PC transfer
« Reply #1 on: January 26, 2014, 07:01:20 PM »
Best to transfer and archive at the recording's original sample rate.

Offline jeenash

• Taperssection Regular
« Reply #2 on: January 26, 2014, 07:15:09 PM »
Okay if that is the case can anyone recommend inexpensive software that a dummy could figure out how to use to do the conversion? Can the human ear even tell the difference between 44.1 and 48?

Offline H₂O

• Trade Count: (28)
  • Needs to get out more...
« Reply #3 on: January 26, 2014, 08:22:57 PM »