Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: setbreak...stop, pause, or keep rolling ?  (Read 7988 times)

Offline zupanic

• Trade Count: (1)
  • Taperssection Regular
setbreak...stop, pause, or keep rolling ?
« on: October 02, 2011, 07:18:36 PM »
This spring I purchased a Tascam DR2d and I'm a total newb to this type of recorder. I have used it for a couple shows which were both just 1 set and done (hour long each). In two weeks I'm going to record Widespread Panic and I'm wondering what most people do for the setbreak. To keep levels exactly the same for both sets, I'm guessing "stop" is not an option. Do most people pause during setbreak, or just keep rolling through it ?  I'm not too concerned about the battery life and I use a totally blank/formatted 8gb SD card.
thanks, Doug

Offline tedyun

• Trade Count: (29)
  • Taperssection Member
Re: setbreak...stop, pause, or keep rolling ?
« Reply #1 on: October 02, 2011, 07:39:46 PM »
I think it depends on a number of factors. In the past, I've stopped/paused during the break between the opener or during a setbreak when:

1. I am unsure about the run time of my battery vs. length of the show. When I was running a V3 and AD2K+, my Tekkeon would conk out around 3 h, so I would turn off all my gear during the break if I thought it was going to be a long show.

2. Trying to conserve space on my media, or swap media cards.

3. I am not confident of the recorder. I've had problems with my MR-1 before I started reformatting the drive prior to show, and with my PMD-661 prior to the latest firmware. I've had instances where I've lost the entire recording because of a write error. So during the break, I would stop the recorder to save what I had.