Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Where to go from here?  (Read 2510 times)

Offline ~ Dan

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Regular
Where to go from here?
« on: February 24, 2005, 08:47:11 PM »
Hello, I'm a newbie to this forum and a newbie to taping also  ;) .  I have had my equipment for about half of a year now but have not recorded much.  I was a little rushed in my decision for what to get and I didn't want to spend too much (as you can see).  Now that I know a little more, I'd eventually like to start upgrading my stuff.

[1] I'd like to know what I should start looking to upgrade first, and what to?  I'm running SP-CMC-19 > SP-SPSB-3 > JB3 right now.  I've talked with a friend who recomended the SP-CMC-8's, what do you think of this?  Would upgrading the mics first be my best bet?  What should I be looking for?

[2] I have no skill whatsoever in mastering recordings, so I was wondering if there are any good resources out there for editting in the post.  Any books or website would be awesome.  I'd also like some feedback on what I've recorded so far.  Here's a link to a bit of a show I recorded, it's Bruce Springsteen (10.28.04).  The recording is uneditted, 16 bit 48 khz, SP-CMC-19 > SP-SPSB-3 > JB3 > USB > flac.  Please let me know what you think of it and what I can do to improve in the future (I know it's not that great, the volume is quite low).

http://www.angelfire.com/ok5/music5/springclip.htm
(go to the page, you can't directly link off of Angelfire :p)
AT853Rx (c/h/sc/o) > Denecke PS-2 > Denecke AD-20 > Nomad JB3 or iRiver iHP-120

Offline bagtagsell

• Taperssection All-Star
  • Man is condemned to be free- Sartre
Re: Where to go from here?
« Reply #1 on: February 24, 2005, 08:54:50 PM »
throw the most money in your mics, they have the greatest impact.  Jb3 is great, no need to improve their.  If you are a stealther, I would reccomend at853.  I bought mine for $300 used with all caps.