Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: question about setup  (Read 3459 times)

Offline BJ

• been around the world and found that only stupid people are breeding the cretins cloning and feeding
  • Trade Count: (16)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • They're baaack! ??
question about setup
« on: February 29, 2004, 03:36:42 PM »
Okay...so this is my second time in this bar, but as a newbie, I'm not quite sure what the best setup would be.  I have drawn a shitty map of the bar..so you can see my problem.  first, they require tapers to stay near/next to sound board, this allows me to be a max of 6ft from the wall with my mics.  :-[ There is a ceiling fan Directly above me that is always going at full speed..DOH!  I ran DIN 90 deg/20 cm last night...but could tell that my right mic(pointed towards wall) was getting weird bouncing waves(the levels for that side where EXTREMELY hard to deal with for a newbie)  I ran a matrix...AGP let me patch in.  I tried to run more sbd than mic's...but it just didn't sound as good as more mic than sbd..even with the mic trouble..(i think i just like mic's better)  however, in the second set I ran  aprox. 70/30 sbd over mic to compensate for my inability to get a good mic sound near that damn wall!  first set was reveresed.  I cannot get my mounts to do XY(becuase one ALWAYS points down towards teh ground..how to fix?)  but XY would be pointing exactly the same right..except the left woulda pointed at the wall??  I DID angle my mics to try to split the stacks(and get away from wall) as much as possible, but the only way to get around the wall..would be to angle the stand to the left...and run about a 45 deg angle, anyone ever tried this??  ANY help would be greatly appreciated.  If anyone would like to hear the show, my first MAT, but horrible mic problems, I can upload...I would love ANY and all critisism on the recording also.  Thanx.
Auditory
Intake  waves -> 0/1's -> waves
it's magic 

Offline Brian Skalinder