Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: going to 4 mics - Nuemann & Nakamichi should I mix omni & cardoid  (Read 4233 times)

Offline royjratc

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
Just bought a pair of Nuemann KM 184 to replace my Nakamichi CM-300 which I had always used with the CP-1 (cardoid)cartridge - Since I'm using a Tascam DR-70D I would like to record using all 4 mics - My question is if I should run the Nakamichi with the omni CP-2 cartridge since the Nuemann are cardoid?

I normally record in a small blues/rock club about 30' back from the stage 7" in the air with my mics pointed at the stacks - I do outside festivals as well - And yes....I'm new to all of this :headphones: Roy

Offline morst

• I think I found an error on the internet; #UnionStrong
  • Trade Count: (2)
  • Needs to get out more...
Re: going to 4 mics - Nuemann & Nakamichi should I mix omni & cardoid
« Reply #1 on: May 27, 2017, 01:45:54 AM »
I would be inclined to run your CP-1's and the 184's side-by-side once or twice as a comparison, just so you know what you have now, then branch out from there.

If you have Omni caps, sure, try those instead of the cards on the Nak300's some time.

You might want to mix sources. You might not. Nice thing about having 4 channels is that you can decide later!

Enjoy, experiment, take chances, and please let us know how it goes!
 8)
https://toad.social/@morst spoutible.com/morst post.news/@acffhmorst

Offline F.O.Bean

• Team Schoeps Tapir that
  • Trade Count: (126)
  • Taperus Maximus
    • MediaFire Recordings
« Reply #2 on: May 27, 2017, 05:21:31 AM »

Enjoy, experiment, take chances, and please let us know how it goes!
 8)

Exactly! I LOVE having the mk4 cards and mk41 supercards running 4 channels, and I can always decide to do a 4 Channel DAUD Matrix if it came out good enough and my capsules were vertically and horizontally aligned 8) ;)
Schoeps MK 4V & MK 41V ->
Schoeps 250|0 KCY's (x2) ->