Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Analog-In vs. Digital-In  (Read 3808 times)

Offline Sharky

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
  • I hate wires
    • My Homepage
Analog-In vs. Digital-In
« on: January 15, 2004, 03:24:44 PM »
I am just getting into the taping scene and have a few questions.

I cant understand why people are so stuck on having units that have digital Line-Ins. It seems to me that for live music, an analog Line-In would work fine. Because, after all, the source you are recording is analog.

Can someone explain to me why having a digital-in is so important for a live recording rig?

Thanks,
Sharky

Offline nickgregory

• Admitted Jeter Homer
  • Trade Count: (2)
  • Needs to get out more...
    • Hurricanes Insider
Re:Analog-In vs. Digital-In
« Reply #1 on: January 15, 2004, 03:27:00 PM »
simply because the analog -> digital converting equipment in most portable decks is cheaply made and sounds it.  By having a digital in you can use a stand alone Analog -> Digital converter, which sounds significantly better.

Offline Brian Skalinder

• Complaint Dept.
  • Trade Count: (28)
Milab VM-44 Links > Fostex FR-2LE or
Naiant IPA (tinybox format) >
Roland R-05

Offline Brian Skalinder

• Complaint Dept.
  • Trade Count: (28)
« Reply #3 on: January 15, 2004, 03:28:37 PM »
Dang, beaten to the punch again!!   :)
Milab VM-44 Links > Fostex FR-2LE or
Naiant IPA (tinybox format) >
Roland R-05

Offline Sharky

• Taperssection Newbie
  • I hate wires
    • My Homepage
« Reply #4 on: January 15, 2004, 04:10:45 PM »
So, how do we tell if a unit has a good ADC built in or not? Do we just have to determine this by ear, or is there a scientific way to do this? I would hate to pass up such a great unit like the Gmini220 just because it has a analog line-in. Because, as far as we know, until we test it, it could have a decent ADC built in.