Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Church Audio Equipment Advice Before Purchase  (Read 9580 times)

Offline Boxtool5

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
Church Audio Equipment Advice Before Purchase
« on: September 28, 2013, 10:37:58 AM »
Anyone able to offer some guidance/advice would be greatly appreciated. I am relatively new to taping(and new here). I mostly looking for guidance and the input of those with experience. I've searched the forums and I THINK I've got the answers I need, I just want to make sure I'm making the right choice before I buy.
While I like a variety of genres, I want my equipment geared towards taping Tool (or other "prog", loud, quiet,loud)
Stealth is important, but I don't want to sacrifice quality. I think I'm about to purchase:

CA 11's and the CA ugly pre-amp (as long as performance is the same I like the idea that it's the smallest).
I've heard recordings with both CA 11's and CA 14's, without noting all the other factors of the recording, the quality varies too much for me to determine, which are best for my wants. I've heard excellent and relatively poor recordings from both.

I don't go to as many shows as I used to (wish I started taping sooner) but in the last few years I've gone to see:
Tool, Peter Gabriel, APC, Puscifer, John Prine, Saul Williams, Billy Bragg, Cat Power, Chris Smithers, Bon Iver, EmmyLou Harris, Roger Waters, Roger Daltrey,The Who "Quadrophenia".....There's more but that should give you an idea of what I'm aiming to record.

I see more small venue theater shows and outdoor festival shows, but I want my gear suited for stadium shows. Whenever possible I position myself at the back of floor seating or GA, typically mid-way from the sound booth to the back of the floor.

So far I've only recorded with the built in mics on my Pcmm10, it's time to upgrade, wish I could've done it months ago before Ian Anderson in the coming weeks...