Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Another Newbie Question Thread  (Read 6861 times)

Offline wharfrat48

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
Another Newbie Question Thread
« on: January 08, 2014, 04:38:04 PM »
I'll try to keep this brief.  First I'd like to thank all the "Tapers" out there as I have been listening to your work for a few decades, and after doing very little research, I have a much better understanding of the amount of work/time that it takes to put together a good recording.  Santa brought me a Tascam DR-05 handheld for Christmas and I'd like to start recording live music in bars and at festivals.  I may eventually upgrade to external mics and a better recorder, but right now I'll be sticking with just the recorder and its internal mics.  I have already recorded a house concert, and I was pleasantly surprised with the results.  The only issue was with the audience being a little loud (I thought the mics were high enough above the crowd), any suggestions?
The main question I have is about recording from the soundboard.  If given the opportunity, should I always record from the SBD, never, or only under certain circumstances?  I know that the DR-05 cant handle a hot feed from the SBD, so I assume I'll need to ask the soundguy for a low level feed or use some attenuators.  I'm sure I'll have some more questions about SBD recording, but I'll stop here in case the consensus is that I shouldn't (or can't) record from the SBD.  Thanks for your help.

Offline Church-Audio

• Trade Count: (44)
  • Needs to get out more...
Re: Another Newbie Question Thread
« Reply #1 on: January 09, 2014, 12:32:51 PM »