Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: NOOB needs advice on Edirol hiss - maybe need preamp? (longish post)  (Read 5322 times)

Offline Optic1

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
Hello all;

I'm pretty new to all this so please bear with me. Project started out as Oral History, using an Edirol R09 recorder and built in mics. Yech! would describe the results, too much ambiance. So I've added a Rode NTG2 shotgun (old folks dont seem to like a mic right in their face so I went with the shotgun) mic, much improved - fed into the mic input got great sound but annoyng hiss in the background. Was able to remove hiss using Audacity Beta version Noise Removal tool. So far so good, but found a need to have a second mic hooked up so I could prompt and steer the interview a bit. So I bought an Azden FMX-32 mixer (just in case I ever needed 3 lines in) which allows me to use LineIn on the Edirol and with Audacity tool the interviews sound pretty good (second mic is a Rode NT3 I got used for cheap but in good shape).

So whats the problem? Well, I went on vacation and decided to do a little ambient sound recording, town Brass band, pin bowling alley, for horn at night, wind in trees (did I mention this is starting to get addictive?), wind chimes, water fountain, tide coming in etc. etc. But now I got major HISS problems with anything thats quiet, boost the input levels to get a decent meter reading (@12-6db) on the R09 and the hiss makes me nuts and I cant figure out how to kill it in Audacity. The FMX doesnt seem to really add much boost so cranking it up and the R09 down allows me to use LineIn but its still hissy.

SO, do I need a preamp to deliver a stronger, cleaner signal to the 09 and if so which one?

TIA,
Rode NT3, Rode NTG2, Beyer M58, AKG C1000S, Azden FMX-32, Edirol R09

Offline Arni99

• Taperssection Member
Re: NOOB needs advice on Edirol hiss - maybe need preamp? (longish post)
« Reply #1 on: August 31, 2008, 02:56:53 PM »