Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Microtrack II -- can you use it as an all-in-one device at a live concert?  (Read 13805 times)

Offline antsyashley

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
Hey y'all. I posted this in another thread, but thought I might get more replies here.

This is my first post. I am BRAND new to taping. In fact, I am not even a taper yet. I am learning and doing research quickly so I can get some equipment before a show at the end of January. I need some stealth gear and I'm very interested in the Microtrack II. As a beginner, I don't want to buy much just to get started. I was wondering if I can do it all with just this one device? How good will a concert sound if I record it using only the MT2 and its mic that comes with it? No extra mics, no extra power, just the MT2. Does anyone have a sample recording of the PURE MT2 live concert experience? Or any input?

I've found it new on ebay for about $230. Does anyone know a better price? Or perhaps I should check for a used one at the yard sale.

I know this is probably a simple and basic question, but I appreciate any thoughts! Thanks!!

Offline J.Maye

• Trade Count: (5)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • Formerly Phan2001
I dont know anyone who uses it as an all in one. Im guessing the provided mics wont be able to handle the high SPL of most live rock concerts, but it might be ok for something quiter.

There have been some people satisfied with their zoom H4 pulls. About the same price point. If I was looking for a budget all-in-1, I would look at the zoom. There are probably some recordings on archive.org, you can decide if the quality is what you are looking for or not.

Welcome, and good luck. 
AKG CK91/92/93/94>mk93/h98>se300b>BM2P+ua5>M10
Or
CA ST11 (C,O)>9100>M10
Busman T mod R4

Offline taperwheeler

• Taperssection Member